Tuesday music musings, 14.5.14

So I know I’ve weighed in on the Motley Crue tribute album in this space before

…but the track listing was released yesterday. As bad as I thought it might be, it looks to be at least that bad if not worse. There is just not one thing about this that is not made of massive, hemorrhaging, EPIC FAIL. Really. LeAnn Rimes doing “Smokin’ in the Boys’ Room”? NO. I mean, I know folks raised hell about the Common Thread Eagles tribute back in 1993, but the MC tribute is going to make that sound like Jimmie freaking Rogers. Really, I’m just so embarrassed for (and by) country music anymore. I mean I know down here we have folks like Jason Boland and the Stragglers, the Turnpike Troubadours, and Reckless Kelly, but the cold hard fact of the matter is that those artists aren’t the face of the genre to the mainstream. People like Chase Rice, Florida-Georgia Line, and Blake Shelton are. And they don’t even care that they’re making shit music. It’s all about appealing to the least common denominator to make the most amount of money, and it’s just sickening.

And Aaron Lewis? What the hell, dude? I thought you were better than that!

===

Speaking of Blake Shelton, if you wonder why so many people are so down on him anymore, you need only to click here. It’s not just his shit music, but his shit attitude toward those of us who don’t like the direction the genre has gone anymore. “Songs about real people.” What a load of crap. Anyone who’s been listening to mainstream country music anymore knows damn good and well that it’s chock full of shallow, misogynist caricatures of “real people,” just like so much of hip-hop and the ’80s glam metal was. It’s like, hey, you got a real nice truck. Good for you. How do you afford that truck? Do you work? Do you have a home life? Or is partying with that hot girl on the tailgate all you do?

(I sure as hell am not keen on Carrie Underwood being any kind of savior of the genre, though. “Blown Away” was just a different flavor of crap, if you ask me….)

Tags:

5 Responses to “Tuesday music musings, 14.5.14”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    And Aaron Lewis? What the hell, dude? I thought you were better than that!

    Exactly what in his musical history made you think that? The rock band indistinguishable from all the other popular rock bands at the time, or the “country” music that sounded like Staind tracks that just didn’t make it onto their studio albums?

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Well, his musical history was one thing, but it was his musings on country music as of late that made me that much more disappointed when I found out he was participating in this. If he was doing it on a rock tribute album I wouldn’t think it was such a big deal, but with him going off about how country isn’t country anymore like so many have been doing anymore, I would have thought he’d have stayed away from it as a country singer. I know I’m getting really pedantic and maybe hung up on the whole genre thing, but there you go…

  2. That Guy Says:

    This makes me want to punch someone. BTW, with a FEMALE singing “Smoking in the Boys Room”- it now becomes a sexual double entendre

  3. Michael Rauch Says:

    I’m no disappointed about LeAnn Rimes doing “Smoking in the Boys Room” as I am about that song being on a Motley Crue tribute album. I was hoping for it to be on the long-awaited Brownsville Station tribute album.

    As for the artist/song pairings, Rascal Flatts and “Kickstart” is a disaster waiting to happen. Just can’t fathom it being even remotely listenable.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Rascal Flatts and “Kickstart” is a disaster waiting to happen.

      Tell me about it. The cover of Tom Cochrane’s “Life is a Highway” was bad enough…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

