Who thought all these songs were badass?

Some of them are, but some of them sucked and not just because of being ruined by the movies.

I never understood the appeal of “Born To Be Wild” or “Bad to the Bone.” Demand my rocker card if you want (you better come for it armed), but I’ve always thought both of those songs were just generic blues-rock poseur ditties. I don’t remember the first time I ever heard either of them, but I can tell you that I don’t remember ever liking them even before heavy metal got me so high-strung. Both of them have always been songs that I wouldn’t miss if I never heard again.

On the other hand, “Back in Black”? Not just no, but hell no. That song and that entire album are made of such concentrated badassery that if every single song on it was used in every bad movie from now till they stop making movies, they still would be audio badassery. (And AC/DC in general is played so much for all the right reasons, if you ask me.)

I guess there’s no accounting for taste…

Tags:

5 Responses to “Who thought all these songs were badass?”

  1. PISSED Says:

    AH that list is waaaaay of course… I can see Bodies and Back in Black.. How about “Iron Man”.. “Running with the Devil”… “Working Man”…”Welcome to the Jungle”… many more

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    “Iron Man” and “Welcome to the Jungle,” definitely. I still like “Working Man,” though; that song is what really opened me up to Rush after years of not being a fan. And “Runnin’ with the Devil” is still a favorite, though my favorite song from that cd is “Eruption/You Really Got Me.” Yeah, I know it’s two different songs,” but ever since I heard “Eruption” as the intro to “You Really Got Me,” I never really thought it worked any other way. 😉

  3. Albatross Says:

    “Bad to the Bone” is one of George Thorogood’s weaker songs. Gearjammer is much better, and it should have been way more popular.

    And, what you said about AC/DC? Yer preachin’ to the choir and you get a big “amen” to that.

  4. Joseph Says:

    Case in point; take the Steven King flick “Maximum Overdrive” for example. A horrible film (even King acknowledges this) but it’s achieved near cult classic status. I don’t think it does this without it’s kick-ass soundtrack, which is actually an AC/DC album (Who Made Who).

  5. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Oh, “Gearjammer” is badass, no doubt about it, Albatross. My favorite GT song has always been “I Drink Alone.”

    And I am sure you’re right about the soundtrack’s effect on Maximum Overdrive, Joseph. I never saw that movie, but I always thought that with the AC/DC soundtrack it couldn’t have been that bad. 😉

Leave a Reply

