So it’s not just conservatives…

…who unfairly castigate bands on the basis of what would seem to be their politics. At least that’s the only basis I can think of.

Rush a 7th-rate band? Wow. Even when I was not a Rush fan I would still have acknowledged that Geddy, Neil & Alex as individuals were all hugely talented and that as a whole Rush as a band was much more than the sum of its individual parts. The only thing I really didn’t like about Rush was Geddy Lee’s voice, but just like a lot of other things it’s an acquired taste. He’s still no Tate, Dio or Dickinson β€” but his voice works just fine for the type of music Rush does, to the point that I can’t imagine those songs being done by anyone else.

I honestly figured that the only thing that would turn lefties off to Rush was Neil Peart’s Ayn Rand-inspired lyrics. But even with his periodic Randian bent, Peart himself has said that he was not “anyone’s disciple.” And one of the band’s songs, “Witch Hunt,” has a lyric in it that would sound familiar as the philosophy of a lot of modern elitist progressives: “Those who know what’s best for us, must rise and save us from ourselves.”

And yeah, I still have all my Dixie Chicks cds. The people who smashed their cds had the right to do so, but personally I thought they made themselves look like raging morons by doing so. Recall that famous quote from the great Alice Cooper:

“If you’re listening to a rock star in order to get your information on who to vote for, you’re a bigger moron than they are. Why are we rock stars? Because we’re morons. We sleep all day, we play music at night and very rarely do we sit around reading the Washington Journal.”

It always seemed to me that the corollary of the philosophy articulated here was to enjoy the music you enjoy without regard to the artists’ politics. And I do. You should hear how often Steve Earle gets played here.

(Incidentally, that list of the 50 most conservative rock songs made for a pretty interesting read, even if some of the choices were a little baffling…)

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “So it’s not just conservatives…”

  1. PISSED Says:

    WOW.. as Im reading your post about 7th rate bands, namely RUSH….Xanadu just came on Pandora and it is now cranking ( on 11) in the shop….. I guess its all in the ear of the listener.. πŸ™‚
    Rush is a number 1 band!… I’m just glad that they don’t speak about their politics like others do.

    I recently came across an old post on “injennifershead” that sums up some of the feeling about the artists doing there job and shutting up…http://injennifershead.com/?p=1841

    its from 2010 but a great post, mostly geared at hollyweirdos.

    Regards!

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Yeeeeeup. I think that was the post that got me reading that blog!

      And “Xanadu” has gotten to be a huge favorite, too…

  2. peter Says:

    Well, I can’t get that page to load right on my phone, so I couldn’t read what was written by that moron. I have no problem with someone not liking Rush. But I’ve long believed them to have the most talent crammed into any three people anywhere. Saying they’re seventh rate is just showing your true colors.
    As far as the line from Witch Hunt, I’ve always thought it was obvious he was being sarcastic. The whole song is about those people ”who know what’s best for us” burning books, etc. I like the final line of the song. ”Ignorance and prejudice and fear walk hand in hand.”

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      I never thought about the narrator of the song being sarcastic, Peter, but then I may be missing something here. There was also the line “They say there are strangers who threaten us, our immigrants and infidels.” But then again, considering all the libertarian-minded lyrics Peart has come up with, it does seem incredibly strange that he would write a line like that and be serious about it. And then of course there was the line “They say there is strangeness too dangerous, in our theaters and bookstore shelves.” And of course “they” are people on both sides of the spectrum.

  3. Albatross Says:

    He’s still no Tate, Dio or Dickinson …

    But, then again, who is?

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Succinct but oh-so-true, Albatross. I made the observation just the other day that a singer didn’t have to have that range to be a good singer. Geddy Lee might not have been able to nail “Take Hold of the Flame” like Geoff Tate does, but he certainly sounded great on “Red Barchetta.”

Leave a Reply

