Yes, we can!

…or, I think we’re going to have to go to Barbecue Station to get meat without bad music…

Sabra, as Jason Michael Carroll’s “Where I’m From” is playing on the sound system: “Can we LEAVE now?”

Me: “Yes, yes we can!”

(Seriously…”I’m from (a place) where a man’s word means everything…where moms and dads are high school flames…the quarterback dates the homecoming queen…” Ford trucks and green tractors? It’s as if they were trying to win a contest to see how many cliches they could stuff into one song. I always thought JMC had a pretty good voice, but his song selection has left a lot to be desired…)

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Yes, we can!”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    I’m somewhat frightened by how you recognized it. The music was just terrible. Terrible music is why we almost never go to Bill Miller’s anymore. And the point that has been made over at Saving Country Music is 100% accurate–these stupid country cred list songs are a worse infestation than bedbugs.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I don’t remember exactly where I heard that song first, but I think it predated Sirius by a pretty good bit. More than anything back then I was listening to Country Legends 97.1 out of Houston, but I’d run up on the stations playing the newer stuff here and there. I’m pretty sure that’s how I heard it first. Why’d it stick? All those godforsaken cliches, that’s how! Lol…

Leave a Reply

