A nifty little tidbit…

…from here, courtesy of Tamara:

When a hurricane makes landfall, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency relies on a couple of metrics to assess its destructive power.

First, there is the well-known Saffir-Simpson Wind Scale. Then there is what he calls the “Waffle House Index.”

Green means the restaurant is serving a full menu, a signal that damage in an area is limited and the lights are on. Yellow means a limited menu, indicating power from a generator, at best, and low food supplies. Red means the restaurant is closed, a sign of severe damage in the area or unsafe conditions.

“If you get there and the Waffle House is closed?” FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate has said. “That’s really bad. That’s where you go to work.”

I seriously had no idea Waffle House was so hardcore. I’ve always loved their food, though. Waffle House is perhaps the biggest thing I miss about not being in East Texas anymore. IHOP is good, but the Waffle House waffle is β€” if you’ll pardon the expression β€” the Platonic ideal of what a waffle should be.

Of course, they didn’t have Taco Cabana east of Dallas or Houston, either. If I can’t have the Waffle House I will certainly not bitch as long as I can have Taco Cabana. As it turns out, though, they have both in the Houston area. Being the native San Antonian Sabra is, she is always ragging on Houston, but hey, it can’t be all bad if it has both TC and WH. πŸ˜‰

Tags:

8 Responses to “A nifty little tidbit…”

  1. Dwight Brown Says:

    There’s two Waffle Houses in the Austin area.

    And no shortage of Taco Cabanas here in the bunker, either.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Yep. Like I said at Tam’s, if I had the gas money I’d be making that trek up 35 more often! I go to New Braunfels now and then for music (Lone Star Music, which has probably the best selection of Texas music on the planet), so another 45 miles or so for a double waffle wouldn’t be that big of a deal. πŸ˜‰

  3. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Dude, it’s still Houston.

  4. Too Old To Work Says:

    I’ve have to remember to go to a Waffle House next time I’m in Texas. I’ve driven by and seen the signs, but never went in to one.

    Oh, and I love Taco Cabana. It’s one of the treats I look forward to when I’m in Austin.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      You’re in for a real treat, TOTWTYTR. I would highly recommend the double waffle. Smothered in butter and syrup, it’s the food of the gawds.

      Heh. With your love of Taco Cabana, you really ARE a Texan at heart! How often do you get to Austin?

      • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

        As usual, he forgets the real star of Waffle House: hash browns. Scattered/smothered/covered is the way to go. (With onions & cheese.)

        When my best friend & I were driving to CT back in ’99, we ate at a Waffle House for the first time ever the second morning of the trip, in Hope, Arkansas. After that, every meal was eaten there.

  5. gator Says:

    I’m gonna have to look for a Waffle House here in the Lake Charles area. There’s only one IHOP in town that I know of, and the food and service was crappy the last couple of times we went there.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Gator, looks like there are a couple of ’em along IH-10 on the west side, at Ruth Street and at Cities Service Highway. Now go!

      Too bad you didn’t get back to SWLA before I left the Golden Triangle. I’d have bought you a beer or three.

Leave a Reply

