Uh, you can already do that.

A letter-writer in this morning’s Express-News, pining for light rail:

I look forward to the day I can travel around here without driving a car.

So, apparently the last couple of days of me riding the VIA buses took place in some parallel universe. I rode from the northeast side (close to FM 78) to the kids’ old school off Hackberry Street on the south side and back yesterday, and the day before yesterday I rode over to Vance Jackson Road on the near-northwest side and back, with breakfast sandwiched between rides (or, rather, wrapped in a flour tortilla with some brisket).

Seriously, you can go just about anywhere in this city without having to get in a car. VIA has buses that will take you to The Rim, way the hell out and gone on the northwest side! And there’s fairly easy access to several other popular shopping and dining establishments — North Star Mall, Barnes & Noble, Best Buy (on the other corner of Loop 410 & San Pedro), HEB, Walmart, and pretty much any other destination you’d care to name. Seriously, it strikes me that light rail is a solution in search of a problem.

Tags:

6 Responses to “Uh, you can already do that.”

  1. Bob S. Says:

    I look forward to the day I can travel around here without driving a car.

    I read that and wondered when the doctors were going to graft the legs and/or feet on.

    Imagine that…they invented a new mode of transportation called “walking”.

  2. Albatross Says:

    I love brisket breakfast tacos! Topped with pico de gallo, of course.

  3. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    The proposed light rail, to the best of my knowledge, consists of two lines, neither of which goes very far beyond downtown. One N->S, one E->W. The letter writer isn’t going to be able to get around town without a car unless she deigns to rub shoulders with the Great Unwashed on Via. (Or, you know, walks. Somehow, though, I’m certain the author doesn’t deign to live anywhere near where she works, or the center of the city, either of which would make walking everywhere an easy proposition.)

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Imagine that…they invented a new mode of transportation called “walking”.

    Yeah, but in this weather the inner thighs get to chafing after a while. I gimped along on ole Pat & Sam for a while today, and by the time I got home I was hurting so bad I could barely move. Let’s just say my inner pragmatist and my inner libertarian are having a knock-down-drag-out fight right about now.

    I’m certain the author doesn’t deign to live anywhere near where she works, or the center of the city, either of which would make walking everywhere an easy proposition.

    Yep. Downtown isn’t THAT big. Pretty neat to walk around in, too.

    And that brisket taco was pretty good, Albatross. (It was from Bill Miller’s, convenient to the bus stop.) I ate it nekkid, though I do love me some pico de gallo.

  5. Bob S. Says:

    Pistolero,

    Was more toward the “live where you work/shop” issue than anything else.

    I find it incredible that many people in Dallas have the same attitude — but want to live 50 miles from the arts district or the shopping district.

    The main purpose of “light rail” is to move people from a distance — if it isn’t available, move closer right?

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Indeed it is. Long commutes and living out in the middle of nowhere both kinda suck.

Leave a Reply

