So, Texas bloggers, where all have YOU been in our fine state?

Inspired by this post from Borepatch, with all the towns in Texas that I’ve either been to or driven through in bold. (Click here if you wanna hear the song; it’s by far my favorite version of it. The only version I can even remotely stand, let alone crank every time it comes on!)

I was totin’ my pack along the dusty Amarillo road
when along came a semi with a high and canvas covered load.
“If you’re goin’ to Amarillo, Mack, with me you can ride,”
and so I climbed up in the cab and then I settled down inside.
He asked me if I’d seen a road with so much dust and sand,
and I said, “listen, bud, I’ve traveled every road in this here land…”

I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve crossed the deserts bare, man,
breathed the mountain air, man,
of travel I’ve had my share, man,
I’ve been everywhere.

I’ve been to Waco, Hico, Hondo, Navasota,
Winnsboro, Jacksboro, Hillsboro, Santa Rosa,
Austin, Houston, Galveston, Texarkana,
Frisco, Buffalo, Conroe, Corsicana,
Goliad, Groesbeck, Glen Rose, Red Oak,
Post Oak, Live Oak, Lone Oak, no joke…

I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve crossed the deserts bare, man,
breathed the mountain air, man,
of travel I’ve had my share, man,
I’ve been everywhere.

I’ve been to Krugerville, Pflugerville, Van Horn, Val Verde,
Brackettville, Bartonville, Beeville, Bulverde,
Bear Creek, Cedar Creek, Mill Creek, Mineola,
Maypearl, Monahans, Telephone, Tuscola,
Redwater, Round Rock, Round Top, Round Lake,
Sour Lake, Southlake, Springlake, for Pete’s sake…

I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve crossed the deserts bare, man,
breathed the mountain air, man,
of travel I’ve had my share, man,
I’ve been everywhere.

I’ve been to Greenville, Gatesville, Gainesville, Alameda,
Kerrville, Kellyville, Bastrop, Benavides,
Somerville, Smithville, Stephenville, Prairie View,
Luckenbach, Longview, Plainview, Idalou,
Justin, Junction, Panorama, Pasadena,
Angelina, and Lorena…see what I mean-a…

I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve crossed the deserts bare, man,
breathed the mountain air, man,
of travel I’ve had my share, man,
I’ve been everywhere.

I’ve been to Valley Mills, Pine Mills, Dime Box, Duncanville,
New Home, New Hope, New Deal, Liberty Hill,
Rockport, Rock Creek, Bridgeport, Brownwood,
Cleburne, Comanche, Cut & Shoot, Cottonwood,
Bayview, Bayside, Baytown, Bay City,
Falls City, Center City, Bridge City, what a pity…

I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve been everywhere, man,
I’ve crossed the deserts bare, man,
breathed the mountain air, man,
of travel I’ve had my share, man,
I’ve been everywhere.

When it comes to travelin’ Texas, friend,
I’ve been everywhere.

Tags:

9 Responses to “So, Texas bloggers, where all have YOU been in our fine state?”

  1. mattexian Says:

    I was tempted to make that our official deployment theme song while I was in the State Guard, because we drove thru so many places in that song while going somewhere else!

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Well, you’re a Texas blogger, so run with it on the blog!

  3. Borepatch Says:

    Six. Give me time.

    And what’s with no El Paso?

  4. Albatross Says:

    I’ve been to 21 of the towns and cities on this list. And a lot more that aren’t

  5. Albatross Says:

    Cool song, though.

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Heh. 29 here, and I know there are a good bit more towns I’ve been through that were not listed.

    And El Paso was a curious omission, BP. Maybe the narrator just never had any business out there. 😉

  7. 45er Says:

    I don’t think there’s enough song for me.

  8. That Guy Says:

    Forty-Eight for me!

    http://rockinaseaofchaos.blogspot.com/2011/09/meme-from-southtexaspistolero.html

Leave a Reply

