No, actually, it wasn’t that demeaning at all.

From the letters to the editor in today’s Express-News:

In the Sept. 11 Express-News, on the first page of the Comics section, the cartoon Zits displayed a panel of three people hugging and the comment, “Seriously … do we have to do this every September 11th?”

I firmly believe in our right to freedom of the press, but do we have to do it in such a demeaning manner? There was nothing humorous about the events of 9/11 and the victims don’t need further suffering from a comic strip. Can’t we be more considerate and respectful of others?

I saw the cartoon and really didn’t find it to be a big deal. Messrs. Scott and Borgman might have been trying to be funny, but they did make a good point even if it was inadvertent. Most if not all the Sept. 11 commemorations treated the whole thing as it were some sort of freak weather event instead of what it really was, and the whole thing was more than a little off-putting, at least to me. That’s pretty much why you didn’t see a related post here on that day. I didn’t really care to recount where I was, and vis-a-vis the whole “terrorist attack” angle I really just didn’t have the words. I just went about my daily business; the way I saw it that was the best way for me to poke my finger in the eye of the movement responsible, considering I wasn’t, say, somewhere in Al-Anbar province drawing a bead on someone with an M24.

Do we have to do that “where were you and how did it make you feel” ritual every September 11? It all just seems so useless and counterproductive. I’m all about the not forgetting, but it seems a vital part of it would be to remember who the hell did it and do our damnedest to make sure they don’t do it again — or at least make sure they know the consequences if they do.

“All right, Osama. You called down the thunder. Well, now you got it. You see that? It says, ‘United States Marines.’ The Islamists are finished. You understand me? I see jihadis, I kill ’em. So run, you cur. Run! Tell all the other curs the Marines are comin’! You tell ’em I’m comin’! And hell’s comin’ with me, you hear? Hell’s comin’ with me!

Tags:

6 Responses to “No, actually, it wasn’t that demeaning at all.”

  1. mattexian Says:

    It wasn’t as bad as some comics that day, tho nearly everybody doing it was wearing.

  2. AeroDillo Says:

    “You’re sad. You mourn the loss. But you don’t wear the black armband forever.”

    Admittedly that was written for a three-man disaster (Apollo 1 burning up on the launch pad in 1967) but I think Wally Schirra nailed it. Maybe I come across like a asshole thinking that, but…seriously people. It’s been ten years. If you can’t get your shit together in a decade you got issues.

    Maybe this is why we can’t win wars anymore. Because we’re too damn busy tripping over ourselves to mourn instead of sallying forth to lay a hurting on those that shot first.

    In that vein, I have a similar blog entry from a now-defunct project that lays out my thoughts. Somewhat dated, but I’ll throw the link up if there’s interest (don’t want to step on any toes or anything).

  3. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Maybe this is why we can’t win wars anymore. Because we’re too damn busy tripping over ourselves to mourn instead of sallying forth to lay a hurting on those that shot first.

    Yep. I tend to think it’s part of what one might call the Oprahfication of America, letting this touchy-feeely bullshit get in the way of what’s really important.

    And I for one would really like to see that blog entry!

  4. AeroDillo Says:

    http://dilloquixote.blogspot.com/2008/07/you-know-whole-thing-reflects-extremely.html

    Word of advice…that link at the top is dead. Site had a fire a while back, though we’ve rebuilt since. And one of these days I ought to get off my ass and resume blogging. It was fun when I had the time.

  5. Les Says:

    Until now, I didn’t think the press ever mentioned or remembered 9/11, except to blame Bush. Too worried about the backlash against muslims, particularly during the Bush campaign against terror. Now that we have a president from the pc party with wars run on the cheap still in Iraq, Afganistan, Libya, perhaps Pakistan with high casualty rates (seldom mentioned), maybe that is why now they are not so worried about the possible backlash against muslims. Got to cover their guy.

  6. asm826 Says:

    I said it back in late September of ’01, we don’t need candlelight vigils and tears. We need rifles and rage. When the people that did this are dead, the people that funded it are dead, and the places they came from are laid to waste like Carthage, then I will bank the fire and let it cool.

Leave a Reply

