Speak for yourself, guy…

…or, God, I am such a curmudgeon….

“If you took any teenager in 1991, they probably wanted to sound like Nirvana or Green Day to a point. Today, my influences come from my life and my family and the (expletive) I go through every day. But starting out, hell yes, you want to be somebody like John Lennon or Kurt Cobain.”

I guess it just goes to show you how stuck in the ’80s I was even as a young teenager that even back in 1991 I didn’t think Nirvana was anything to write home about. I was mainly into country back then, and my forays into other genres largely consisted of Guns ‘n’ Roses, Motley Crue and the like. Not that I run screaming from them, but just like Lennon and the Beatles, I find Cobain and Nirvana to be incredibly overrated. And yes, I thought that even before I discovered real metal.

But then I managed to be somewhat happy as a teenager, which may be why I never found Cobain and company’s music to be something that spoke to me…

Tags:

6 Responses to “Speak for yourself, guy…”

  1. That Guy Says:

    I really think I was the only person I went to highschool and college with that thought Nirvana was mediocre at best, the Red Hot Chili Peppers were a one-hit wonder that released the same song over and over, and Pearl Jam just flat out sucked hind teat.

    Green Day, Smashing Pumpkins, etc… all of them were background noise. I wanted to hear some vocal range and a mean guitar with talent behind it.

  2. mattexian Says:

    F**k Cobain. The only reason he’s as famous as he is, is eating a shotgun, thus martyring himself to what counted as his fans, and depriving them of any of his future greatness. Oh, and being married to Courtney Love.

  3. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I wanted to hear some vocal range and a mean guitar with talent behind it.

    Very well said, That Guy. And even a good guitar makes up for a more marginal singer like James Hetfield or Dave Mustaine. Npt that I don’t like Hetfield or Mustaine — Metallica & Megadeth have both gotten to be huge favorites of mine; in fact, Ride the Lightning was my introduction to traditional metal — but when you talk about singers with vocal range you probably know exactly who comes to mind — folks like Ronnie James Dio, Geoff Tate & Bruce Dickinson. (I really like Triumph frontman Gil Moore, too.)

    (By the way, That Guy, you might be interested in this post of mine and this one..)

    I will freely admit to having a soft spot for the Stone Temple Pilots, though. 😉

    The only reason he’s as famous as he is, is eating a shotgun

    I don’t know if I’d fully agree with that, mattexian, though I am certain it made a lot of people look at Nirvana differently than they would have otherwise.

    • That Guy Says:

      Just read those two posts. Very well said. It does annoy the hell out of me when you mention ’80s and ’90s metal, and someone replies mentioning Poison or Warrant.

      However, I also dig and still Listen to Anthrax. They were fun metal, and still have the best songs based on Stephen King books ever.

  4. Albatross Says:

    I remember, at the time when Nirvana’s star was rising, hearing some people use the “genius” word when talking about Cobain. I scoffed then, and I still scoff now if anybody dares to use that word today. (I think some do, but not as often.)

    Nirvana made some good songs, but they weren’t great. Popular, but not entirely new or groundbreaking. Hell, it’s not even the sound Cobain wanted for his band.

  5. 45er Says:

    I’ve always disliked Nirvana with a lot of passion.

Leave a Reply

