I sort of suspected this…

…but I wasn’t quite sure it was the case.

I don’t know about all you other folks who use Facebook, but if my news feed is any indication the New Facebook is going over about like New Coke did. I had that thought and just for grins I put “New Coke” in teh Google. I’d heard Coke Classic differed from the actual original formula and wanted to see if perhaps I could find out what it was, and sure enough

Many who tasted the reintroduced formula were not convinced that the first batches really were the same formula that had supposedly been retired that spring. This is partially true because Coca-Cola Classic differed from the original formula, as all bottlers who hadn’t already done so were using high fructose corn syrup instead of cane sugar to sweeten the drink.

Also, according to Snopes, five years before New Coke was rolled out, bottlers were allowed to replace half the cane sugar with high-fructose corn syrup — and about three months before New Coke came out, pretty much all Coke was being made with high-fructose corn syrup instead of cane sugar.

So, it would seem, Mexican Coke is pretty much the bona fide Coke of the olden days. Who knew?

Tags:

11 Responses to “I sort of suspected this…”

  1. BobG Says:

    “So, it would seem, Mexican Coke is pretty much the bona fide Coke of the olden days. Who knew?”

    All of us who grew up drinking soda that was made with cane sugar. The stuff with corn syrup doesn’t taste right to us. I was never a real big soda fan, but when they started putting corn syrup in it, I quit drinking it altogether.

  2. peter Says:

    I just saw something on Yahoo about US Coke vs Mexican Coke. They did a taste test & if the person drank from the glass bottle and the aluminum can, they chose the Mex. If they drank out of a cup, nearly everyone picked the US Coke. This led them to conclude that people prefer to drink from the glass bottle and that actually overrides any taste preference. I bought a Mex Coke a couple times and I didn’t really notice any difference. Now give me a Pepsi instead of a Coke and I’ll know. Pepsi is nasty.

  3. peter Says:

    BTW, I didn’t try both side by side so that may have made a difference. Some day I’ll have to try both Cokes together.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Some day I’ll have to try both Cokes together.

    Yeah, I think that’s the best way to do it. I find the stuff made with the cane sugar is a different kind of sweet, not quite as overwhelming and with not as much of an aftertaste.

    And yeah, Pepsi is nasty. Goblin-piss nasty, almost.

  5. southtexaspistolero Says:

    All of us who grew up drinking soda that was made with cane sugar.

    I honestly never would have thought about that. Even after New Coke came and went, my folks still drank Coke pretty regularly and they never said anything about it tasting different. But boy, does it ever. The cane sugar stuff probably accounts for about 90 percent of my Coke consumption anymore.

  6. peter Says:

    I haven’t seen the cane sugar Coke here except in individual bottles. Not surprising that y’all have it there tho. I can’t really drink it anyway because caffeine makes me sick, so I usually stick with Barq’s. Occasionally I can drink something with caffeine and be ok though.

  7. BobG Says:

    My wife likes the Mexican Coke, so I picked up a case of it at Costco’s today.

  8. Chris in Boerne Says:

    Mexican Cokes and Dublin Dr. Peppers. The only way to go.

  9. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Yep, Dublin Dr Pepper is pretty good too. We picked up some at Central Market a few weeks ago.

  10. Les Says:

    I asked both Dr. Pepper and Coca-Cola why they had messed up their beverages with HFCS. Neither wanted to discuss it, I guess. Coca-Cola’s web site did say that individual bottlers were allowed to use either sugar or HFCS, depending on which was cheaper, because the taste was the same. So for us, it is Mexican (or German) cokes, and “retro” Dr. Pepper. How bizarre are our soda water companies?

  11. southtexaspistolero Says:

    How bizarre are our soda water companies

    More than a little, if they think sodas with sugar taste the same as sodas with HFCS. I know there are those who can’t tell the difference, but I know I certainly can.

Leave a Reply

