Random observations from the day.

• Sign on the fence at Kelly Field Annex, aka the former Kelly Air Force Base on San Antonio’s southwest side (paraphrased): “No parking, photography or loitering.”

Me: “Well. What a bunch of gorramed spoilsports!”

It was pretty neat to get to see the F-16 take off, though, especially when the pilot opened up the throttle. 😉 But then there was one sitting on the tarmac a few minutes later, with its engine running, taunting me. “Take off, you bastard!” Never did…

• A squeaky belt tensioner is an annoyance, albeit a minor one compared to having to keep to the bus schedule if I want to go anywhere. Man, is it ever good to have my wheels back.

• I don’t give a damn how cheesy Queensryche’s Empire (the album) might have sounded; the greatness of “Anybody Listening” more than cancels it all out. I bought that cd more than two years ago and that song still gives me goosebumps. (Funny how, as far as I could tell, few if any people bitched about the love songs on Rage for Order or Operation: Mindcrime. Can’t say that I ever quite understood that…)

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Random observations from the day.”

  1. Albatross Says:

    Working on my review of The Warning. Hope to have it up soon.

    P.S.: Empire is great. I don’t see the problem with it others seem to have.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I don’t see the problem with it others seem to have.

    Me neither. I bought that cd for “Jet City Woman,” and “Another Rainy Night” got to be a big fave too.

    Can’t wait to see your thoughts on The Warning. How does it compare to Rage for Order for you?

  3. peter Says:

    I was stationed at RAF Lakenheath in ’93-’94. They had a parking lot outside the fence where the Brits could come watch the planes take off and land. They have F-15s there. And somehow they always knew when Stealth fighters were coming before we did. The cars would be lined up along the road to watch for them.

    “Anybody Listening” kicks ass, but I like the whole album.

    • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

      Were you the guy with a buddy who had a cat living in his car? I know someone told me that story once, but I don’t remember who. I guess it’s entirely possible it’s a common feature of folks living in barracks…

  4. Albatross Says:

    How does it compare to Rage for Order for you?

    I don’t know, Rage for Order is still my favorite, so far. But The Warning is rapidly growing on me.

    By the way, it’s up now.

Leave a Reply

