More rock music musings…

Hector Saldana of the San Antonio Express-News, speaking of Michael Morales and the latter’s opinion on Def Leppard:

Morales, who shared a label with Def Leppard (Mercury), considers them a supergroup.

If indeed he does consider Def Leppard that, Morales is wrong — because that term has a very specific definition. Yeah, people do use the term as Morales does, and it makes them look ignorant when they do.

I do like Def Leppard, though. I always thought their music was a lot of fun and that, like the music of Guns ‘n’ Roses, it rose above the typical glam band dreck that was so popular in the ’80s.

Speaking of G’n’R, I clicked on one of the links at the bottom of that mySA.com story, which took me to another link, which led me to this:

19. Kurt Cobain on Guns N’ Roses
“They’re really talentless people, and they write crap music, and they’re the most popular rock band on the earth right now. I can’t believe it.”

And the only thing I could say was,WOW. Sure, it wasn’t Metallica or Iron Maiden, but the notion that Guns’n’Roses’ music was crap, or that they’re “really talentless people,” is just so self-evidently ridiculous that it defies words. I could very well be wrong, but I get the feeling that after “they’re the most popular rock band on the earth right now” was an unspoken “and we’re not and that blows.” That’s pretty much the only explanation that makes sense to me.

Of course, what gets me about the Cobain quote is that it goes hand-in-hand with what I talked about here, the notion that everything that came in the decade before grunge was crap. I never would have thought Cobain actually believed that, but it sounds like he did.

Which makes him sound even dumber than he does on “Smells Like Teen Spirit.”

As for Van Halen vs. Van Hagar musings, I shall reprise my comment here:

The first four tracks on Van Halen’s eponymous 1978 debut pretty much pwn everything else the band ever did, with Roth OR Hagar. “Runnin’ With the Devil,” “Eruption,” “You Really Got Me,” “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love,” oh, hell yeah. BTW, I thought for the longest time that “Eruption” was just the intro to “You Really Got Me” as opposed to a free-standing song. It always pissed me off when they’d cut it, because those two work SO much better in tandem.

Tags:

3 Responses to “More rock music musings…”

  1. AlanDP Says:

    I like what Nick Cave said.

  2. peter Says:

    I’m not a big fan of GnR because I can’t stand the singing but at least their lyrics make sense, which can’t be said for Nirvana’s lyrics. I’ve never understood everyone’s fascination with Cobain & Nirvana.
    Those VH songs definitely kick ass. And I agree, Eruption & You Really Got Me are a perfect match.

  3. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I like what Nick Cave said.

    About the Red Hot Chili Peppers? Oh man, that was awesome.

    And I know what you mean about G’n’R, Peter, though I think it works well for the style of music they did.

Leave a Reply

