Still a joke.

More evidence that the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has no credibility surfaced today, as the Red Hot Chili Peppers and Donna Summer showed up on the 2012 ballot…and still no Rush or Bad Company. One of my Facebook friends said Rush should have been inducted years ago, and I would have said as much even when I was not a fan. Talented bunch of guys who influenced quite a few bands, at least one of whom (Metallica) is in the Hall now. I realize it may be expecting too much for Megadeth, Queensryche or Iron Maiden (another band that Rush influenced) ever to be inducted, but I don’t understand why so many of the seminal bands of the 1970s have yet to get in.

On the other hand, Guns’n’Roses also showed up on the 2012 ballot, which means that bastard Kurt Cobain is probably spinning in his grave. So at least there’s that.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Still a joke.”

  1. PISSED Says:

    I feel your pain….. 🙂

  2. Albatross Says:

    On the other hand, Guns’n’Roses also showed up on the 2012 ballot, which means that bastard Kurt Cobain is probably spinning in his grave.

    I don’t know, Cobain would probably spin even more if he heard that Nirvana was on the ballot.

  3. BobG Says:

    I’ve never really cared for Rush myself, but they deserve a place on the ballot. The Red Hot Chili Peppers and Donna Summer enjoyed a brief fling, but have never had the staying power of Rush.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I don’t know, Cobain would probably spin even more if he heard that Nirvana was on the ballot.

    ROTFLMAO. Touche, sir!

    I might have to disagree with the staying power of the RHCP, BobG; with ove 80 million albums sold I think it’s safe to say they’re pretty well-established. Quantity doesn’t equate to quality, of course; I just think the Red Hot Chili Peppers suck and always have sucked.

Leave a Reply

