“It’s no surprise to me, we are our own worst enemy.”

I was almost surprised I had such a visceral reaction to this

Mike (Vanderboegh) does have a past of seeming like a loon. I mean, I started the Handgun Podcast Six Percent specifically to throw the “threeper” thing in his face and double his figure with my own “prags”. The fact that he’s right this time doesn’t make his past seem anymore justified; instead his past calls this event into question.

…but I did.

To reprise and add to my comments at Mike W.’s place:

Sweet bleedin’ Jeebus. One of our own uncovers what might be the biggest political scandal in American history and here Mr. Eric R. Shelton is, bringing up and trying to continue his little pissing contest. How disgusting. I really don’t understand how Vanderboegh’s past activities bring any legitimacy on what the ATF, Justice Department, et al. were doing with Gunwalker, and it’s just absolutely beyond the pale to imply that they would, even if it’s in a backhanded manner. And who the hell was saying Vanderboegh’s work here did justify his past activities? Real nice straw man Shelton set up there. I read a lot, if not most, of the blogs with whose authors Vanderboegh has had conflict in the past (Linoge, Sebastian, SayUncle, and several others), and none of them have let any kind of vendettas or personal beefs with Vanderboegh color their perceptions of Gunwalker. (Or if they have, they’ve never said as much in blog posts or comments.) Kinda telling, don’t you think?

Tags:

2 Responses to ““It’s no surprise to me, we are our own worst enemy.””

  1. Mike W. Says:

    Hell, just search my blog and you’ll see I’ve been critical of Mike V. in the past.

    Is his past “problematic” when he enters the mainstream media? Sure. Does it have anything to do with the good work he’s put in on the Gunwalker scandal or the veracity of the facts he’s brought to light in that regard? No.

    Regardless of whether you agree with the mans positions as a whole it’d be nice to see fellow gunnies man up and say “Hey, good job Mike, you’ve gone a great job with this.” For that reason I was sad to see Eric’s comment on my blog.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Regardless of whether you agree with the mans positions as a whole it’d be nice to see fellow gunnies man up and say “Hey, good job Mike, you’ve gone a great job with this.”

    Yep. I know SayUncle has done exactly that, if not said it in so many words. And all the other gun bloggers are treating it as a legitimate story. I was actually surprised to see Shelton bring his personal beef with MV into it.

Leave a Reply

