No. 1 is good, but some of the rest…

Wow, talk about a real hit-and-miss list here.

A lot of it is a matter of taste, of course. Just for an example, yes, The Number of the Beast was a great album, but I actually liked Powerslave better. Bookended by two of metal’s greatest songs, and not a second of filler in between. And then there’s the matter of definitions. I for one always thought of AC/DC or GnR as more hard rock than metal, with Def Leppard sort of straddling the line, wherever it may be. At least one of those spots would have been much better occupied by, well, any of Queensryche’s ’80s records. (My preference would be The Warning, but Rage for Order and Operation: Mindcrime both were more than worthy of inclusion on that list.)

And I know this is probably heresy to a lot of metal fans, but I never really was a big fan of Slayer. Not to say I outright disliked them; Tom Araya’s style of singing just doesn’t appeal to me. I suppose that might sound weird, considering James Hetfield didn’t have that good of a voice either and you know how I love the early Metallica and the same goes for Dave Mustaine & Megadeth. I just always preferred the more melodic style of metal, which would definitely explain my fondness for Queensryche, Dream Theater & Iron Maiden as of late. I do appreciate Slayer quite a bit on a technical level, though.

Master of Puppets, though….not just yeah, but hell yeah. Ride the Lightning was my introduction to real metal and it was damn good, but I ran out and bought Master not long after and was blown away. Between James & Kirk’s guitars and the lyrical content, hearing that album was the musical equivalent of taking a ride with Mario Andretti at Laguna Seca after a literal lifetime of riding with your grandmother. It’s not just a masterpiece of metal; it’s a masterpiece of music, period.

Thoughts, metal fans?

Tags:

4 Responses to “No. 1 is good, but some of the rest…”

  1. AlanDP Says:

    Slayer is just annoying, impenetrable noise to me.

  2. Albatross Says:

    I couldn’t get that link to load, so I’ll just comment on your comments:

    Well, basically, I simply agree. With just about everything. Except, of course, with the fact that you left Judas Priest out. I know, I know, they’re kind of the obligatory masters of metal, what with their long career and heavy influence and people thinking they should acknowledge Rob Halford and friends often, but I don’t see how any list of best metal albums of the 1980s could be complete without including Screaming for Vengeance. And I sincerely hope that link you posted actually has that album on there. Or I will be very disappointed. With a sad face and everything.

    😦

    And I, too, never really got into Slayer. They never really appealed to me. Not that I don’t like that kind of metal. I do. It’s just that I never really got into Slayer as a band.

    By the way, did you know there were two Slayers way back in the day? There was L.A. Slayer and S.A. Slayer, but the San Antonio version eventually faded away and the L.A. band is the one that survived and gained wider fame.

  3. Albatross Says:

    OK, finally got it to load. Here are my real, completely subjective thoughts on that list:

    11. Holy Diver – Holy crap, yes! This should have been closer to No. 1! This was Dio at his finest, backed by awesome guitar, drum, and bass work.

    10. Hysteria – Good album, but not great and not quite metal. It is hard/pop rock, and it doesn’t belong on this list.

    9. Shout at the Devil – This deserves to be on there. I actually liked Motley Crue’s debut album better, but this one totally rocked and set the bar for glam metal.

    8. Peace Sells … But Who’s Buying? – Also deserves to be on this list. Any Megadeth album would

    7. British Steel – OK, here’s my Judas Priest. And, besides Screaming for Vengeance, I can’t think of another JP album more worthy of inclusion. Good choice here.

    6. The Number of the Beast – I agree that there are other, better Iron Maiden albums out there, but, to be fair, this one did bring the band fame and brought a whole new sound to the larger world of metal. I can’t argue with it.

    5. Blizzard of Ozz – Oh, hell yeah. Ozzy’s debut album after leaving Black Sabbath was, like Dio’s, a superb work chock full of creativity and musical prowess. I agree heartily.

    4. Reign in Blood – As discussed earlier, I wasn’t much into Slayer. I shrug at this one.

    3. Appetite for Destruction – No, it doesn’t belong. Like the Def Leppard entry, this was a good album, but I hesitate to call it metal.

    2. Back in Black – Absolutely one of the best rock albums ever made! But it’s not metal. It shouldn’t be here. (But it should be on the list of top rock albums of all time!)

    1. Master of Puppets – No argument with this one, though you really could have put any of Metallica’s albums from the 80s on here and I would have said the same thing.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    The Judas Priest omission in my own commentary was not for me not liking them by any means, Albatross; I absolutely agree with you on that one. I was just commenting more on what I knew based on the albums on that list I did have. And JP should be acknowledged. Because they are that good.

    Motley Crue was definitely more metal than Def Lep or AC/DC; I for one wouldn’t turn up my nose at them, though I will admit I liked the singles off Theater of Pain better than the ones on Shout At the Devil. I used to like more of the glam metal, but after discovering Maiden, Megadeth and all the rest, not so much.

    Speaking of Megadeth, I really need to get their first two. I have So Far So Good…So What? and Rust in Peace, as well as their last couple of studio albums, both of which are right up there with their old stuff quality-wise.

Leave a Reply

