Wow, get out of my head, dude.

Comment to this story:

Enough glamouring over another city’s team. It’s beneath us.

Yep. I’ve always thought some San Antonians’ Dallas Cowboy fandom was yet another sign of the inferiority complex I’ve mentioned here and elsewhere. It just struck me as another way the city is percieved to be in the shadow of Dallas and Houston: “Hey, we can’t have an NFL team, so we’ll just close our eyes and pretend it’s the Dallas-San Antonio Cowboys!”

But then if I am rooting for an NFL team on Sunday it’s usually the Texans, so maybe I have a biased perspective.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Wow, get out of my head, dude.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    No self-respecting San Antonian roots for a Houston team. Not even the Rockets when they’re playing the Mavs. 😉

  2. Albatross Says:

    Some. Not all. I like the Cowboys because I grew up on them when Staubach was showing the world what a quarterback is supposed to be doing when he steps on the field. With a childhood hero like that, how could I not be fond of them in the ripeness of my years?

    And then, to my chagrin, my son decides that he likes the Steelers.

    [sigh]

    At least he doesn’t like the Eagles, so I’ve got that going for me.

Leave a Reply

