I never thought about this…

…but it does make sense….

Me: “What baffles me, in relation to fast food and Tex-Mex, is how a place like Taco Bueno could exist in a town with Taco Cabana.” (Sabra and I tried TB once and we were both very unimpressed.)

Sabra: “Well, you have to remember — it’s up in New Braunfels. With all the white people who aren’t from Texas.”

Me: “HAHAHAAAA!”

Tags:

7 Responses to “I never thought about this…”

  1. 45er Says:

    Heh. Good point. Taco Cabana pretty much rules the roost on the fast Tex Mex front.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Yes it does, 45er. I was ecstatic when I got to San Antonio in December 2009 and rediscovered it. Before then it had been almost a decade since I’d eaten there. They don’t have any TCs in East Texas.

  3. Living Out Here Says:

    Sabra: “Well, you have to remember — it’s up in New Braunfels. With all the white people who aren’t from Texas.”

    So funny, and so true!

  4. MAJMike Says:

    Taco Cabana has amazingly good food. It’s inexpensive and quick. The salsa bar has wide variety, is fresh, and tasty. Food snobs may sneer, but I’ve never had a bad meal there.

  5. southtexaspistolero Says:

    “I’ve never had a bad meal there.”

    Me neither, MAJMike, and I’ve eaten at Taco Cabana A LOT since June 2010. Sometimes twice a day.

  6. Too Old To Work Says:

    Over a decade ago on a visit to Texas my lived in Texas since the early 80s sister in law and family took us to Taco Cabana. I liked it then and never miss a chance to go to one although no doubt many people don’t consider it “real” Mexican food.

    It’s real enough for me.

  7. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Same here, TOTWTYTR. Taco Cabana might not necessarily be authentic, but for what it is it’s damn good.

Leave a Reply

