Dear ex-boss…

I don’t know why you felt like you had to call the personnel office 10 seconds after I walked in there to ask what I was doing. I was making sure you people had the right address to get me my damn W-2. It’s not as if I was gonna shoot up the place. Paranoia will destroy ya, as the old saying goes.

I would like to thank you for what you did back in late September, though, because it really lit a fire under my ass. I started applying for every open position at every place I could find. Three days later I had an interview, and now I have a job making almost twice as much as I was making with you. So yeah, everything turned out great. Bye now.

Tags:

5 Responses to “Dear ex-boss…”

  1. drjim Says:

    Yep, I’ve done the same thing, too. Languished at a start-up hoping to get my share of the blood, sweat, and tears I put into it to help them get it off the ground. Was always told they were hanging on to the money to “help us all get through these lean times”. We all believed it until after the first of the year, when the three principals drove into the lot in brand new cars. A Mercedes, an Audio, and a BMW.
    I started seriously looking, and was gone 60 days later.
    They were “stunned” that I was leaving, but made no attempt to counter the offer I had from a far better company.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Oh man, I’d have been pissed. My situation wasn’t quite like that, but there were things about it that pissed me off just the same, such as working part-time hours while they brought in temporary workers to take up the slack. I don’t know why they couldn’t have hired full-time people instead.

  3. 45er Says:

    Congrats on the good find!

    southtexaspistolero – they were hosing everyone by not having to provide benefits. That’s a great way to save money and lose good employees.

  4. That Guy Says:

    I’ve been there. Working in the tech industry, I have some fun stories of layoffs.

  5. southtexaspistolero Says:

    “they were hosing everyone by not having to provide benefits.”

    Yeah, I kinda figured as much. But it comes off as quite disingenuous for them to promote themselves as a great place to have a career. I worked part-time for my whole stint for only slightly above minimum wage. That doesn’t sound like the beginning of a great career to anyone I know. That’s just an obseevation, 45er, though; I am sure you agree.

    ” Working in the tech industry, I have some fun stories of layoffs.”

    Oh, I can imagine…

Leave a Reply

