Smartphone observations.

LawDog documents his adventures in smartphone shopping, in this hilarious little tale. Which made me think of some observations I’ve been mulling over in my head, well, probably since about the time the old MacBook bit the dust. 😉

I do understand a lot of folks’ gripes about having to be reachable 24/7, and I don’t think I have to be that way myself either. But the smartphone is a marvelous little device no matter how you look at it. For one, as Tamara notes here, it makes a handy little replacement for a pocket notebook. And there have been a few occasions that Sabra and I have used it to find places to eat when we’ve been out and about here in San Antonio. (Well, she manipulated it as I drove, but you get the point.) Came in handy a couple of weeks ago when we ventured up to Fredericksburg too, as I recall. Is it a must-have gadget, even in this day and age? I don’t think so. But it sure is nifty.

I find it funny, though, how the smartphone OS wars have gotten right up there with the computer OS wars. It strikes me that the Android users are at least as fanatical as the iPhone users, though I could be wrong. Another thing I find amusing is that the BlackBerry seems to be nowhere on the battlefield, or perhaps just an afterthought at best, when a few years ago it was the hottest thing in town. And Windows Phone? It seems to get even less discussion than the BlackBerry. (I suppose none of that is either here or there for purposes of this blog post, though.)

I really don’t have an opinion either way, though. I would’ve gotten an iPhone when I upgraded, but for the fact that my provider doesn’t offer it. I will say, though, that I really do like my Android-powered phone and don’t feel like I am running with a subpar piece of equipment. Hell, the thing has a faster processor than my last desktop computer! Yeah, I know, hardware vs. software and all that, but I do think the Android OS is still pretty good.

I do wonder, though, how many of the iPhone owners look down their noses at people like me for owning an Android phone as opposed to the iPhone — as they themselves type on Windows computers, because, y’know, the Mac is “just an overpriced toy” or some such rot…

Tags:

6 Responses to “Smartphone observations.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Your Mac is an overpriced toy, sweetie. An overpriced toy with sharp edges and a sweet backlit keyboard.

  2. Dwight Brown Says:

    My home computers are Macs. My phone is an Android phone. I carry a netbook running Ubuntu as my laptop. I work professionally with systems running Windows Sever, VMWare, and UNIX/LINUX based operating systems. In short, I’m a conscientious objector in the platform wars and refuse to look down on anybody using whatever works for them.

    “Another thing I find amusing is that the BlackBerry seems to be nowhere on the battlefield, or perhaps just an afterthought at best, when a few years ago it was the hottest thing in town.”

    Don’t know how much you follow tech news, but basically, RIM’s management has piddled away their market lead. I don’t think anyone would be surprised to see them gone by this time next year.

    “And Windows Phone? It seems to get even less discussion than the BlackBerry.”

    Microsoft’s been too little, too late responding to Android and IOS, though the latest version of Windows Phone is supposed to be quite nice (according to people who have seen it). I heard somewhere that Microsoft was resorting to offering spiffs to retail employees for selling Windows phones.

  3. southtexaspistolero Says:

    In short, I’m a conscientious objector in the platform wars and refuse to look down on anybody using whatever works for them.

    By and large I am the same, though I do poke fun at Windows users now and then. (Windows Vista was genuinely bad, though, at least judging from the time I’ve spent troubleshooting Vista machines.) It just irks me when people imply I am a sucker because I bought a Mac.

    I read about RIM’s big fall; that sort of thing happens all too often. There are those who say it’ll happen to Apple, too, but we’ll see. I do wonder how many other folks don’t even think about the BlackBerry when they go for their first smartphone.

  4. That Guy Says:

    I am pretty platform agnostic on things these days. Still love my Macs, but I can use Windows just as well.

    But I REALLY wish Apple would allow someone to make a licensed iOS ruggedized phone. I use the iPhone all the damn time, but I am so afraid I’m going to break the darn thing. There are Ruggedized Android, but Google has just turned evil these days.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Still love my Macs, but I can use Windows just as well.

      Same here, though I was telling Sabra last night that if Microsoft’s track record holds, Windows 8 is going to be a real turd. It seems like they get it right with about every other version of Windows. On one hand you have XP and 7, but on the other hand you have ME and Vista. I had heard mixed reviews of OS X Lion, but as far as I can tell it’s just as good as every other release of OS X.

      There are Ruggedized Android, but Google has just turned evil these days.

      Yeah, I know, and it sucks, because what else is a would-be smartphone consumer to do? It’ll be interesting to see what happens with Windows Phone this year because of that.

Leave a Reply

