Shorter Courtland Milloy…

“She shouldn’t have worn that low-cut shirt.”

A woman was sitting at a bus stop on 11th Street NW about 1:30 a.m. when she was robbed of a laptop, cellphone, books, cash and credit cards.

Was the woman at fault for being out that late, carrying so many valuable items? Can she really expect to sit at a bus stop at any hour and not be targeted by criminals?

Pardon my french, but fuck no she wasn’t at fault. How, pray tell, is this attitude any different than blaming rape victims for the clothes they wear? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it here: I know the fact is that bad things go down after midnight, but we deserve to be able to defend ourselves right after midnight just as much as we deserve to be able to defend ourselves right after noon. Risk avoidance isn’t a bad thing — don’t get me wrong — but you and I both know that Courtland Milloy and his ilk don’t think we deserve to be able to defend ourselves with firearms against goblins at 1:30 in the afternoon any more than we do at 1:30 in the morning. Which makes his preaching about risk avoidance disingenuous at best and profoundly hypocritical at worst.

(h/t David Codrea)

Tags:

One Response to “Shorter Courtland Milloy…”

  1. 45er Says:

    I’ve seen that attitude over and over again and it really irks me. Why would you be walking your dog at 2 in the morning? Who cares why? I’m doing something that is totally legal and I should be able to do it at any time. Will I carry a gun at 2 in the morning? Heck yes, just like I do all of the time, but it doesn’t make it my (or her) fault because some idiot chooses to target people at night.

Leave a Reply

