Hey, I tried…

Overheard at Texas Guns on Bandera Road yesterday evening, shortly after I fondled a Remington R1:

Me: “Guns have been going up in price since ’08, Imma have to start slingin’ blow, dude. Means to an end, yes, sir….If I bring you some of that high-grade Mexican coke, will you cut me a deal?”

Clerk: “No sir, but I will introduce you to my buddy at the Leon Valley Police Department.”

Me: “Oh, is he the guy who gives the shoplifters the free rides?”

Incidentally, the Remington R1 feels pretty solid. I think it just might be my next firearm purchase, despite the fact that I was making goo-goo eyes at the Kimbers and talking to the clerk about the 10mm Dan Wesson Razorback. The clerk was telling me that the barrel and the bushing were machined from the same bar stock and they went through the entire manufacturing process together. I thought that was pretty cool; I didn’t think they did that sort of thing with production guns.

Of course, what would really blow my mind is if they did the same thing with the frame & slide…

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “Hey, I tried…”

  1. Peter Says:

    Saw a cool gun on Pawn Stars a couple nights ago. Guy brought in a LeMat. Nine round .42 revolver with a separate barrel that fired a .20 shotgun shell from the center of the revolver. He sold it to them for $10,000.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Nifty! I’ve heard of those but was unaware they fetched such a hefty price. I didn’t think a pawn shop would take something like that; I figured they’d go for more common guns.

  3. Dwight Brown Says:

    As I’ve said several times when the R1 has come up in discussion:

    1) I need another 1911 like I need another hole in my head.
    2) I want one anyway. I think the R1 would be a nice base for a custom gun, assuming I ever figure out exactly what I want in a custom gun and scrape together the scratch to get it done.
    3) I wonder if you could convert an R1 to .38 Super? It seems like it would be just a barrel and magazine replacement, but I wonder if you’d run into mechanical issues with the higher-pressure cartridge?

    If they come out with a Commander-length version or an off the shelf .38 Super version, I am there.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I need another 1911 like I need another hole in my head.

    Pfft. Everyone needs at least ONE MORE than they already have. 😉 I think it would make a nice platform for a custom gun, although it’s pretty nice all by itself. The .38 Super question is an interesting one. I’d guess if you put a stiffer spring and/or a recoil buffer in it, it would mitigate the increased wear the frame would take, but then I am not a gunsmith and that’s my rather uneducated opinion. The only issues I’ve heard about vis-a-vis the 10mm 1911s are with extended use of nuclear loads, and I’d guess the same would apply with the .38 Super versions as well. If you’re really itching for an off-the-shelf .38 Super 1911, though, the Kimber Stainless Target II is very nice.

  5. Dwight Brown Says:

    “If you’re really itching for an off-the-shelf .38 Super 1911, though, the Kimber Stainless Target II is very nice.”

    I’m somewhat of a Kimber fanboy for sentimental reasons. (My first handgun was a Kimber Custom Classic II, bought used on November 7, 2000, and which I love dearly. I leave the significance of that date as an exercise for the reader.)

    However, I’ve heard a lot of negative things about recent production Kimbers, so I’m a little hesitant about spending $1,000+ on a new one.

    TexGuns has, in the past, had 1911 pattern pistols in .38 Super from Rock Island Armory in the sub-$500 range. That’s also tempting, though I suspect the gunsmithing to get one of those to where I want it would add at least another $500 to the price, bringing it closer to the Kimber.

Leave a Reply

