Not-so-random music observations…

Hey, Y100? The fact that you supposedly play fewer commercials than KJ97 doesn’t make you a better radio station. It just means you play more Nashville crap. Or, as Sabra said, it could just mean you suck so bad you can’t get anyone to buy your commercial airtime. KKBQ in Houston was doing that same thing vis-a-vis KILT and I thought the very same thing when they did it. Funny thing about it, though, was that at the time KILT was actually a decent radio station. (Man, I do long for the olden days of Rowdy Yates’ Country Gold Live and Leslie T. Travis’ Texas Music Revolution. The demise of the latter was a huge, if not the deciding, factor in my going to Sirius satellite radio.)

Maybe I’m just getting old and set in my ways, but I don’t understand the appeal of Marilyn Manson. I understand their appeal even less when hearing bands like Iron Maiden and Triumph in close proximity. (This observation brought to you by “The Dope Show,” “2 Minutes to Midnight” and “Lay It On the Line” on the drive home last night.) To each his own and all that, and I know there are a lot of different styles of rock and metal, but I guess you could say I am just as much of a traditionalist when it comes to that as I am when it comes to country.

And finally…Next cd on the to-get list: Iconoclast, from Symphony X. Wednesday or Thursday, depending on when it gets to the San Pedro Barnes and Noble. 😉 Albatross reviewed the album last September and included a sample of the title track and it was really good. Sort of like a Dream Theater fronted by Ronnie James Dio. Yeah, I am sure you metal fans can imagine the awesomeness of that.

More when I get the cd and have a chance to listen to it…

Tags:

2 Responses to “Not-so-random music observations…”

  1. Albatross Says:

    Happy listening! I’ve been listening to Iconoclast ever since I reviewed it, and I keep liking it even more.

    My favorite songs so far are “Dehumanized”, “Heretic”, and “Electric Messiah”. I’m eager to hear which ones strike your particular fancy.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Yeah, I am pretty anxious to hear it; I am sure it’ll be great. Metal seems to be about the only genre these days that retains any semblance of freshness or originality anymore.

Leave a Reply

