Another song that makes me speed.

Some songs are really bad for my ability to maintain the speed limit. And that’s really bad in heavily-patrolled residential area. (Fortunately for me, I pulled it off this morning.) This song is one of those.

Originally recorded by Brownsville Station in 1973, “Smokin’ in the Boys’ Room” was revived by Motley Crue for their 1985 album Theatre of Pain. The song became the band’s first Top 40 hit, reaching No. 16 on the Billboard Hot 100. I think this was the first version of the song I ever heard. The Brownsville Station original is good, but it’s the Crue’s version that has always been my favorite.

Incidentally, I have heard this song more in the almost two years I have been in San Antonio than I have in the last 20 years. Yay for SA classic rock radio!

Tags:

7 Responses to “Another song that makes me speed.”

  1. Albatross Says:

    You say “classic rock”. In San Antonio, all kinds of metal have been standard radio play since I was an impressionable young pup.

    By the way, ever heard of Joe Anthony and Lou Roney?

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    ROTFLMAO Albatross. Haven’t heard of Lou Roney, but I seem to remember Joe Anthony being mentioned here as the guy who broke Metallica and a lot of other great rock & metal bands in SA when he was with KISS. Enlighten me, sir!

    BTW, I got the Symphony X disc today (actually got the 2-cd special edition). More later, but I can say right now that it’s fan-fricking-tastic, every bit as good as I thought it’d be. You have fine taste; I will definitely listen to you more often!

  3. Albatross Says:

    Lou Roney was Joe Anthony’s partner in the local music biz, though Lou was more of a promoter and Joe did the DJ and live radio duties, which meant that he got more attention. But together they both pushed the hell out of heavy metal and hard rock in San Antonio, and they would promote, play, and gather audiences for metal acts that couldn’t really sell anywhere else, and just about any big name metal band worth their salt today will look back on their early days and remember fondly the gigs they played in San Antonio.

    And they have Lou Roney and Joe Anthony to thank for that.

    And I hope you get as much enjoyment out of that Symphony X album that I did.

    P.S.: I’m listening to Iron Maiden’s “The Duellists” as I type this. Good stuff, Maynard.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    just about any big name metal band worth their salt today will look back on their early days and remember fondly the gigs they played in San Antonio.

    That’s pretty cool, Albatross. I’ve said it before, but I never in a million years would have pegged San Antonio as such a hotbed for heavy metal. Pretty nifty how I ended up here, considering how my appreciation of that music has gone through the roof the last few years. I still love my Sirius radio (“Iconoclast” gets played pretty regularly on their heavy metal channel), but it’s damn nice to hear bands like Queensryche & Iron Maiden on the radio here.

    “The Duellists”

    Oh, yeeeeah. 😉

  5. Albatross Says:

    Check out this blog post from mysa.com. There’s a picture of Joe Anthony with the members of Rush from 1975.

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Fascinating. I also Googled a bit and discovered this. What a rich metal heritage San Antonio has. I never had a clue.

  7. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Ah, was this speeding before or AFTER you dropped the kids off at school? And haven’t you learned yet, it’s not the cops you have to worry about but your wife?

    How does that mental conversation go, anyway? “Imma get home and blog this. She’ll never see it there!”

Leave a Reply

