Yet more proof…

…that country music’s all about the image anymore:

Aldean’s voice tends to go flat at times, but he makes up for it with rock-star swagger and an arsenal of high-energy anthems. It didn’t hurt that he was sporting a George Strait T-shirt, a nod to the unofficial RodeoHouston king.

Translation: “Jason Aldean isn’t that good a singer, but he’s loud and he has the image that sells. And hey, he was wearing a George Strait t-shirt!”

I wonder, if I was a famous country singer, what people would write if I walked out on stage with an Iron Maiden t-shirt on and sang Merle Haggard and George Strait songs all night. I probably wouldn’t get away with being called a heavy metal icon, right? So how does Jason Aldean get away with being called a country singer as opposed to what he really is?

Tags:

11 Responses to “Yet more proof…”

  1. picturerock Says:

    I miss Johnny Cash, Patsy Cline, and, hell it’s true, Jerry Reed.

  2. Borepatch Says:

    Man, you’re going to hate tomorrow’s Saturday Redneck post …

  3. Albatross Says:

    … if I walked out on stage with an Iron Maiden t-shirt on and sang Merle Haggard and George Strait songs all night.

    You, sir, have just blown my mind with potential musical goodness! That is one show I would remember for the rest of my life.

    • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

      He could totally do it too. Except for the lack of an Iron Maiden t-shirt.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Albatross, I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: you have pretty cool tastes. 😉 And I could get pretty obscure with the album cuts and such.

      As for the lack of an Iron Maiden t-shirt, Sabra, that can be fairly easily remedied! I think it’d be pretty simple to get one online, though I don’t know for sure. Now I just need a band…

  4. Jim Collins Says:

    I used to go to go on stage wearing long sleeved cowboy shirts with groovy stitching on the cuffs. This led to rumours that I was a junkie, covering up my tracks.
    Screw that. I’m a bluesman. We’re all drunks, not junkies!

  5. Jim Collins Says:

    BTW, Drew Szuch up there in SA rocks, if you get the chance to see him rattle them pots and pans.
    Johnny Cool, of the K-tels.

  6. BobG Says:

    It’s been about the image for some time now. Some of the real CW singers have noticed it.

Leave a Reply

