I am so full that I can barely move…

So Sabra and I celebrated our second wedding anniversary today. We had been bandying about the idea of going to one of the local Brazilian steakhouses. There are three of them here in town that I know of — Fogo de Chao and Texas de Brazil downtown on Commerce Street & Houston Street respectively, and Chama Gaucha on Sonterra Place just northwest of Loop 1604 and Stone Oak Parkway. We finally decided on Chama Gaucha due to the obvious issues with parking downtown…

…and oh my God, words can’t even come close to doing the whole thing justice. I remember reading about the churrascarria concept on Tamara’s blog a few years back and being utterly intrigued by the whole thing. Unfortunately they didn’t have any such thing in Beaumont-Port Arthur, so I just sort of, shall we say, bided my time — until today.

Mind? Blown to bits. Chicken? Sausage? Leg of lamb? Filet mignon? Picanha? Yes, yes, yes, yes, and YEEEES! I was telling Sabra that I think picanha is probably the best cut of meat I’ve ever eaten. Even better than the prime rib I always get at the Texas Roadhouse, and trust me, that’s saying a lot. There was a salad bar, but…hey, MEAT! All you can eat! I stumbled out of that place happy as a gimpy clam. It’s not cheap, but God, is it ever worth the money.  Tender, juicy, and oh-so-flavorful, every bite of every cut. I would have eaten more, but I had to save room for the free dessert.

So…yeah. You shouldn’t be allowed to die until you have eaten at a churrascarria, even — no, ESPECIALLY — if you’re a vegetarian. 🙂

Tags:

7 Responses to “I am so full that I can barely move…”

  1. James Says:

    “We had been bandying about the idea of going to one of the local Brazilian steakhouses.”

    How many is a brazillian?

    Seriously, congrats on the anniversary!

    Hope to see y’all soon!

  2. Borepatch Says:

    Bravo on your anniversary. And bravo again on recognizing that the celebration feast should be a *feast*, and making the feast grand enough to match the occasion.

    Best wishes for many, many more!

    P.S. Churascarria is the shiznit.

  3. BobG Says:

    We’ve had a couple of those here in Salt Lake for probably 20 years now; as a carnivore I like them immensely.

  4. Dwight Brown Says:

    Happy anniversary, you guys.

    As I recall, we (that is, my Saturday Dining Conspiracy group) had much the same experience the first time we ate at a Brazilian steakhouse (which I swear was a now-closed location of Texas de Brazil: did they move? Did they ever have multiple locations?)

    We’ve been to Fogo de Chao a couple of times since, and the local Estancia Churrascarria once. Both of those are pretty good, but somehow just not the same…I’ve driven past Chama Gaucha a lot, back in the bad old days when I was going down to the VA hospital a lot, and I keep thinking I should get the band back together and try it.

  5. mick129 Says:

    Wow, small world – my anniversary was Saturday too! We had our feast at the Melting Pot, which was also epically delicious. Anyway, congratulations!

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    the celebration feast should be a *feast*, and making the feast grand enough to match the occasion.

    Yeeeeeeah. I think that would be a fine idea for that day, every year. Not the ONLY day, either. 😉

    Dwight, I know Texas de Brazil does have many locations, from Las Vegas to Port-of-Spain, Trinidad, and from San Antonio to New York City. As far as I know vis-a-vis the SA location, it’s only ever been downtown; it opened in late December 2010. But yeah, as Borepatch said, churrascarria is the shiznit. Heh. Sure as hell can’t afford to eat there every day, but that’s okay. Like I said, it was so, so worth it. I’ve never been to Fogo de Chao or Texas de Brazil (Chama Gaucha was my first Brazilian steakhouse experience), but I have no doubt they’re every bit as good.

    The Melting Pot looks quite intriguing, mick. Reminds me of this place I went to a couple of times back in Beaumont, but the chefs actually cooked the meal in front of us as opposed to us cooking the meal ourselves. Congrats to you and yours. 🙂 How long have y’all been married?

    • mick129 Says:

      5th anniversary. It was a bit odd to time the shrimp and chicken ourselves. I preferred the steak and tuna that went well rare.

Leave a Reply

