More musical musings: Rage Against the Machine.

Dear God, and I thought U2 sucked…

Man alive. The utter suckitude of Rage Against the Machine REALLY comes into sharp focus when they’re played right before Pantera and Metallica. (“Mouth for War” and “For Whom The Bell Tolls” FTW!) I’d heard a lot about that band over the years but hadn’t heard any of their music that I was aware of. But a few weeks ago I heard their version of “Renegades of Funk,” and I thought, whoa, this is a whole new level of bad.

And last night I had the misfortune to be subjected to the ass end of “How I Could Just Kill A Man” before the aforementioned Pantera and Metallica songs. And I do mean ass end, ’cause it stank just that bad. Hey, Zack De La Rocha, I want that one minute of my life back, you whiny little son of a bitch. You think you’re a badass, I’m sure, but James Hetfield and Phil Anselmo would probably leave you as nothing more than a grease spot in the dirt when it came time to throw down. I’d love to see ’em do it, too.

And yes, I would think that even if they weren’t a bunch of hypocritical Marxists.

Tags:

9 Responses to “More musical musings: Rage Against the Machine.”

  1. That Guy Says:

    THANK YOU!!!

    Rage and Green Day are some of the crappiest ‘rock’ that is somehow popular. Never could stand either one. Every song sounds the same, and they all suck.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Pretty much. I thought Billie Joe Armstrong was bad, but Zack De La Rocha makes him sound like Bruce Dickinson.

  2. Albatross Says:

    And yes, I would think that even if they weren’t a bunch of hypocritical Marxists.

    Is there any other kind? (Especially when it comes to music.)

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Oh, my. “The process of recording guitar poetry was known as ‘magnitizdat’, which meant recording the songs on privately owned tape recorders.” ROTFLMAO! I love it!

  3. Dallas Dees Says:

    I always thought every Rage song sounded like Sylvester the Cat decided to start a band.

  4. stainles Says:

    I’ve always been fond of the word “samizdat”.

    Thanks for giving me the chance to add “magnitizdat” to my vocabulary.

    I will have to work on incorporating that into casual conversation.

Leave a Reply

