Random Saturday musings.

Another reason San Antonio, well, rocks: Classic rock stations that don’t do the same old Stairway to Hotel Freebird rotation that every other classic rock station does that I’ve heard. I remember when I first got into classic rock I loved “Stairway to Heaven” and “Hotel California,” but later I thought, “okay, those are great songs, but those bands do have others…” And now and then I do hear them. “Dazed and Confused,” “Tuesday’s Gone,” “One of These Nights,” and the list goes on, of course, and then there are all the real metal bands. Yeah, I love it…

Every time I walk up to the cash register at HEB and see the magazines on the racks with all the celebrities on them, I think, This, this is what is wrong with American culture. Call me a curmudgeon, a misanthrope or whatever you like, but, really. People magazine, why should I or any other red-blooded American give two shits about whether Princess Kate is pregnant? As Sabra said, didn’t we fight a war so we wouldn’t have to care about that sort of thing?

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

