As a follow-up…

…to this

From what I’ve read, the whole Queensryche operation has basically been taken over by Geoff and Susan Tate, so much so that there were people who had gotten to referring to the band as “Tatesryche.” From what I’ve read about Tate’s attitude toward their earlier style and heavy metal in general, as well as all the music post-Empire, I’d believe it — though Promised Land did have its high points. It would explain Dedicated to Chaos and the whole cabaret thing, for sure. I have read about tensions rising between Tate and the rest of Queensryche, though, to the point that Tate allegedly pulled a knife on the band in Brazil. I am a Queensryche fan on Facebook, and the only updates I’ve seen on their page the last three months or so are regarding Geoff Tate’s solo shows and his wine tastings. And now, there is this:

In the wake of a series of bizarre rumors about Queensryche’s relationship with lead vocalist Geoff Tate, the other members of the band have announced a new side project called Rising West.

The new group teams Queensryche members Michael Wilton, Eddie Jackson, Scott Rockenfield, and Parker Lundgren with Crimson Glory vocalist Todd La Torre.

I also heard that the rest of the band members were locked out of the FB page so they couldn’t say anything about Rising West. So apparently, Geoff & Susan Tate think it’s okay to talk about what he’s doing without Queensryche but not what the band’s doing without him. Pretty damn hypocritical, don’t you think?

As for Rising West, I’ll admit I was a bit skeptical of the whole thing — until I heard them. I caught a clip of their version of “Walk in the Shadows,” and was damned impressed. I never thought anyone could fill Geoff Tate’s shoes, let alone even come close to restoring Queensryche to its former glory, but Todd La Torre is damn good. He sounds so much like Tate did back in the day that it’s almost eerie. I must say, I am pretty psyched about this. If they do make it into the studio and record an album, I’ll be first in line to buy it the day it comes out.

Tags:

6 Responses to “As a follow-up…”

  1. 45er Says:

    Hmmmm, I was a big fan back in the day, myself. After Empire it all gets a resounding Meh. I would be curious to hear the new endeavor.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Bad audio notwithstanding, it was impressive. I still don’t understand what drove Queensryche off the rails after Empire.

  3. Albatross Says:

    That’s sad news. I was just listening to “The Needle Lies” today and thinking: Man, those guys were tight!

    They were. But apparently they’re not any more. Too bad. They could put on an incredible show back in the day, and I wish good things for Rising West. Shame about Tate, though.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I read another interview with Geoff Tate in which he said he was listening to a lot of New Wave-type stuff back in the early 1980s and he asked, in effect,, “Wasn’t it obvious I was not into metal?” Well, no, dude, not considering y’all sounded for all the world like an American version of Iron Maiden back then…

    Oh, and the best comment was probably the first one: “I understand having influences outside of metal, but to say you were never a metalhead? come on poser boy! Just because no self respecting headbanger bought you (sic) solo album doesn’t mean you can fool anybody to make them believe it was intentional!”

  5. That Guy Says:

    Rising West sounds pretty good. I’ll have to add them to the iPod.

    Is Crimson Glory any good?

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    To be honest, That Guy, I haven’t heard anything from Crimson Glory proper, though I will be quite surprised if they don’t sound good. I’ll be tracking down some clips when I get a chance.

Leave a Reply

