Wow, I can’t imagine why.

One Preston Brust, on Tim McGraw’s new single:

Danny was rockin’ a badass lick on the guitar that day. He stopped and said, ‘Boys, everybody’s telling us to not write songs about trucks or country boys and to not use the word ‘country’ …

My, I can’t imagine why they’d do that. The nerve of those people!

For the record, to give you an idea of just how low-rent this song is, its title is “Truck Yeah” and it mentions blasting Lil’ Wayne on the iPod through the “subs.” I haven’t actually heard the song, but the lyrics are bad enough. Just a sample:

“Truck yeah. Wanna get jacked up, yeah. Let’s crank it on up, yeah. With a little bit of luck I can find me a girl with a truck, yeah. We can love it on up, yeah. ‘Til the sun comes up, yeah. If you think this life I love is a little too country, truck yeah.”

(I would say I might like it better if the character in the song was blasting something like Iron Maiden, but if Brust or his co-writers were smart enough to understand and appreciate Iron Maiden they wouldn’t be writing this shit.)

Later on in the interview, Brust is quoted as saying that he felt like they had to try to “write something for the kids.” Yeah, because if anything’s wrong with modern country music, it’s that it caters too much to mature adults and doesn’t have nearly enough songs about drinking and partying.

Seriously, modern Nashville music and its creators (I refuse to call those people artists) are so intellectually bankrupt that it’s just utterly unfathomable. I suppose this is only the next step in Tim McGraw’s musical evolution from “Feel Like A Rock Star,” but it’s still a hideous thing to behold.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

10 Responses to “Wow, I can’t imagine why.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    As I have been saying for YEARS, this is the dude who gave us the most racist country song since I don’t know what, and “Truck Yeah” surprises people? Please.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Perhaps they thought it would be his nadir and there would be nowhere to go but up, although I can’t imagine why…

  2. JD(not the one with the picture) Says:

    He’s doing it “FOR THE CHILDREN”

  3. Dwight Brown Says:

    Those are actual lyrics to a song?

    You’re not pulling a April Fool’s joke on me 4 1/2 months late?

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I wish I was, Dwight. I wish I was.

  5. Speakertweaker Says:

    …but if Brust or his co-writers were smart enough to understand and appreciate Iron Maiden they wouldn’t be writing this shit.

    BWAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!

  6. southtexaspistolero Says:

    It rubs the lotion on its skin

    LOLOLOL, very good….

Leave a Reply

