A snapshot…

…of what’s wrong with the media, in these two items from the New York Daily News.

The first one is just more of the old “NRA and American gun owners are to blame” bullshit and whining about bans on “assault weapons,” unconstitutional as they may be, and the “gun show loophole,” even though the killer got his weapons at a gun store — you know, the general tone that the Daily News is known for by those who read it.

The next item, though, ought to really burn your ass.

That one is the story of Jamie Rohrs and Patricia Legarreta, two of the survivors who are going to get married in the aftermath of the shooting. Everybody say it with me now, “Aww, how beautiful.”

That’s exactly what they wanted you to say, too. They didn’t want you to read that story and think about how that chickenshit Rohrs ran out of the theater to save his own sorry ass leaving  his girlfriend and two kids to die. Not a word about the guy who stayed there and saved their lives. (h/t JayG)

His name, by the way, is Jarell Brooks. Sounds like he’s the one whose name Patricia Legarreta should be taking, not the guy who ran out on her as the bullets were flying.

So what’s wrong with all this, you ask? The blaming of the inanimate objects and the glossing over of what has to be the ultimate act of cowardice, that’s what. Run out on your girlfriend and your kids as some madman is raining bullets, fire, or what-have-you down on them, have a come-to-Jesus moment, ask her to marry you and have the story run by an adoring media with the focus on your proposal, with no mention of the stranger who stayed behind and protected them. That’s a handy little template to follow for all the sackless wonders out there, if you think about it.

Tags: ,

5 Responses to “A snapshot…”

  1. JC Says:

    I saw that 5 men had wrapped themselves around women and children, and thought: How nice, so many. Then I saw the total number of victims, and thought: “how chickenshit, so few”.
    My head, it refuses to encompass this sort of thing, and for that I must, really, thank God.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Yeah, I am still having trouble wrapping my head around that, too. It says nothing good about us as a society.

  2. Albatross Says:

    Egad. I had not heard that story about Rohrs. I kinda wish I still hadn’t.

    If that had been me that ran out on my girl, I think I’d hang my head in shame. I certainly wouldn’t be telling my story to the media.

Leave a Reply

