That’s just how they roll.

A lot of them, anyway:

But he undermines his own credibility, and the strength of his argument, by implying that this is the result of some kind of conservative program. These are clearly individuals, some deranged, acting on their own accord. It might just be difficult for Pitts to conceptualize individualism, it being so much more a conservative than a liberal trait.

It just might be. I read that column and just dismissed it as more of Leonard Pitts doing what he does best. He and his kind love to blame the collective for the acts of the individual. Well, scratch that. They love to blame certain parts of the collective for the acts of certain individuals. You see, again, that every time a high-profile shooting occurs, people love to blame the NRA and the gun manufacturers. Instead of demonizing the individual, they demonize the group. As I recall, Tim McVeigh and the guy who shot George Tiller were roundly condemned by most conservatives. You don’t really have to tell conservatives to condemn acts of violence like that and disassociate themselves from such individuals, because they already do.

But if Pitts acknowledged that, he’d have less to write about.

Tags:

6 Responses to “That’s just how they roll.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    He could always stick to telling us about how it’s impossible for Blacks to be racist ’cause they don’t have any power (except for where they do) and power is a prerequisite for believing your race superior (except that it isn’t).

    Fuck Leonard Pitts. He’s on my list of people I wouldn’t pee on if he was on fire, and since I’m pregnant that’s saying a lot.

  2. Les Says:

    Pitts is against racial discrimination against people he deems to be like himself, but mocks discrimination against other groups. He is against lynch mobs in the early 1900’s lynching people he deems to be like himself, but is a proponent of “social justice” which is a lynching by another name, and is an active member of several modern lynchings. He poses problems without supplying answers and blames groups other than his own for those problem.
    In short, he is a hypocrite, racist, bigot and marxist.

  3. Albatross Says:

    He’s on my list of people I wouldn’t pee on if he was on fire, and since I’m pregnant that’s saying a lot.

    You made my day with that comment! I can’t put my finger on why it made me chuckle so, but it did.

    As for Pitts, I don’t read him anymore. Along with the Express-News‘s Pimentel, he is one writer that I don’t bother expending energy on because I know his approach will just end up pissing me off rather than making me think. There are some lefty writers that I will read because they can actually present their views in a thoughtful way, and they can do it without denigrating people simply for having a different opinion. But Pitts and Pimentel aren’t among them.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      I would say that Pimentel is a Latino version of Leonard Pitts, but unlike Pimentel, Pitts actually does make good points from time to time.

      • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

        Pimentel is a pathetic hack who was only hired because his name is the right ethnicity. Carlos Guerra and Victor Landa were both hired because the EN wanted a Mexican columnist and Guerra insisted they hire Landa as well. And this was apparently such a non-issue to all involved that Landa freely spoke of it in his final column for the paper. Meanwhile, there are no Black columnists at the paper, much less representatives of any other “minority”, which gives me (as you know) a subject to rant about regularly and more evidence for my belief the city is being made-over to appear monoethnic.

      • Albatross Says:

        Meanwhile, there are no Black columnists at the paper, …

        I liked reading Cary Clack. Didn’t agree with him all the time, but I liked reading his stuff.

Leave a Reply

