Sometimes bad things can be good.

Lee Ann Womack seems to be catching a bit of flak for this quote

(Loretta Lynn) told me, ‘Just don’t let them push you pop.’ … And I never did, thanks to Loretta.

Yes, I know what you are all yelling now. “What about I Hope You Dance? And Something Worth Leaving Behind?”

Fair enough, I suppose. I haven’t actually heard either of those albums in their entirety, but from what I understand they were a good deal more pop-sounding than Lee Ann’s previous work. I would guess she sees those albums as aberrations in her catalog. If that’s the case then I really can’t blame her, especially after the tepid reception of Something Worth Leaving Behind as a half-hearted attempt at repeating the success of I Hope You Dance.

Of course, there is a silver lining to every cloud. Had Something Worth Leaving Behind not been such a flop, we might not have gotten There’s More Where That Came From — and that would have been a crying shame, because for my money that album was probably the best mainstream country album to come out in at least the last 25 years.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

9 Responses to “Sometimes bad things can be good.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    because for my money that album was probably the best mainstream country album to come out in at least the last 25 years.

    Better than King George? You ARE grouchy about the retirement!

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      You ARE grouchy about the retirement!

      Well, I did say probably. 😉 I think Blue Clear Sky, It Just Comes Natural, and Here For A Good Time ranked pretty high, too.

  2. Albatross Says:

    Today, I listened to Merle Haggard’s “C.C. Waterback”, Johnny Cash’s version of “25 Minutes to Go” (written by Shel Silverstein!), and Jerry Jeff Walker’s “Sangria Wine”.

    No Lee Ann Womack, though.

    Just thought you’d like to know.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      GOOD STUFF, Maynard. To be honest, though, I liked “Yesterday’s Wine” more than “C.C. Waterback,” but they were both great tunes. I never knew Shel Silverstein wrote “25 Minutes to Go”! (Were you listening to the Folsom Prison record?) I wish that song got played as much as “A Boy Named Sue.”

      • Albatross Says:

        Were you listening to the Folsom Prison record?

        Absolutely! That’s probably the best record of my dad’s that I ever had the fortune to decide to sneak-listen to. (My mom hated that album!) A great musical work, unique and raw, and something my brothers and I loved listening to on the sly.

        There’s just nothing else like it.

      • Albatross Says:

        I never knew Shel Silverstein wrote “25 Minutes to Go”!

        He wrote “A Boy Named Sue”, too. Here’s proof.

  3. mattexian Says:

    If “I hope you dance” is supposed to be pop, then I guess “Baby, now that I found you” covered by Allison Krauss is too. It’s not like she had it remixed into something more pop-y, like Shania Twain did for a song or two of hers.

Leave a Reply

