Monday music musings…

Listening to the radio this weekend, I heard the Eagles chestnut “Hotel California,” which is one of those songs that classic rock radio has played to death over the years. Other songs on this list include “Stairway to Heaven” and “Don’t Fear the Reaper.” I thought of a fairly apt way to describe those songs as I was driving one day — “training wheel classic rock.” Training wheels on a bicycle are a great help to learning how to ride, but eventually you advance beyond them. And the above-mentioned songs are all decent introductions to classic rock, but as with the training wheels you eventually get beyond those. And unfortunately, in my opinion those songs have been played so much that is about all they’re good for anymore.

===

Just when you think Geoff Tate couldn’t top his previous asshattery, he goes off and does it. Among other things, Tate contends now that:

• he can still sing the old pre-Promised Land material (a listen to pretty much any clip from the last three years will put the lie to that);

• Whip, Scott and Eddie wanted the Queensryche name to themselves because they couldn’t sell as Rising West (they filled the Seattle Hard Rock Cafe on both nights of their debut and Live Nation Entertainment signed them on the strength of those debut shows); and

• Whip and Scott have multiple social media accounts which they use to smear him on the Internet. (“Ohhhhh kayyyy,” I’d be saying as I backed away slowly…)

Dude just keeps digging that hole deeper. I would think he’s almost to China now.

===

And finally… Next cd on the to-get list: Symphony X’s Paradise Lost. It’ll be Wednesday or Thursday, from the Barnes and Noble at San Pedro and Loop 410. If it’s even half as good as Iconoclast (which I still owe a proper review to), I am going to be in for a real treat. This is how it was recommended to me:

“As far as I’m concerned, those 2 discs (Paradise Lost and Iconoclast — ed.) are 1 & 1a in their catalog…If you get the chance, I highly recommend picking up the disc or getting it from iTunes. I personally love it. From the opening instrumental all the way to the last track, there are some serious melt your face moments, IMO. Put it this way, if you’re a fan of Iconoclast, & you try Paradise & don’t like it, I will personally send you a check for what you paid for it.”

Sounds pretty damn good to me.

(Oh, and in light of the Geoff Tate item — I am not Michael Wilton or Scott Rockenfield. Or Eddie Jackson, for that matter…)

Tags:

11 Responses to “Monday music musings…”

  1. AeroDillo Says:

    On the subject of songs that are way overplayed…can I throw in The Joker? That’s got to be one of the most retarded songs in the history of rock, yet our oldies/classic rock station here plays it at least once a day.

    The Steve Miller band weren’t exactly musical genius, but shit – they’ve at least got a couple of songs that don’t spike my murder-rage meter half as bad as that overdone turd.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    On the subject of songs that are way overplayed…can I throw in The Joker?

    Yes, YES YOU CAN. In fact I would insist on it. Truth be told I am not a fan of the Steve Miller Band in general, but that song is especially tired. I was more than a little bit nonplussed when I saw Tim McGraw play it when I saw him at the George Strait festival shows. That was one more reason I was glad to see him replaced with Alan Jackson the last year Strait was doing those.

    I still like “Jet Airliner,” though.

    • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

      See, Tim McGraw’s set at the George Strait concert was always my clue to go to the bathroom and concession stand. God alone knows why you sat and listened to it.

      • southtexaspistolero Says:

        ‘Cause I didn’t wanna be in line for the pot when George took the stage! That’s pretty much the reason I never drank that much later on in the day at those shows. And I always went and got my t-shirts before the show even started.

  3. AeroDillo Says:

    I like Jet Airliner, though it still annoys me about the radio edit. I remember not too many years ago that it contained the lyric ‘funky shit going down in the city’ which has since become ‘funky kicks going down in the city’. Small annoyance maybe, but it still rubs me the wrong way.

    And Tim McGraw singing The Joker?

    It’s official – we have reached the nexus of suck.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    funky shit going down in the city

    They still play that on satellite radio, FWIW. You’re not the only one annoyed by that! Radio edits like that have always pissed me off. The one that’s been sticking in my craw lately is the one for Tom Petty’s “You Don’t Know How It Feels” — “Let’s hit another joint” instead of “Let’s roll another joint,” as if that makes it any less obvious what the characters in the song are doing.

    Agreed on Timmeh and the nexus of suck. George Strait singing “There Stands the Glass” more than made up for it, though. 😉

  5. AeroDillo Says:

    At least you guys get “let’s hit another joint”. You know what we get?

    “Let’s roll another note.”

    I still haven’t deciphered what that means, exactly.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Oy. What radio station is this, again?

      • AeroDillo Says:

        Either 95.7 or 92.5. Probably the latter, as the former is generally too busy playing Elton John (or The Joker) in a continuous loop.

        Gotta love the stations that play JUST THE HITS. Because that’s all anybody ever wants to hear. THE HITS. In endless repetition. Forever.

        God, I hate ClearChannel.

  6. Don | Hard Rock Cafe Seattle Says:

    I can’t speak to the controversy you mentioned, but I can say the Seattle Rising West shows went really well. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

