Yeah, I am definitely more cynical than I used to be.

I would have been trumpeting this from the rooftops once upon a time, but not so much anymore.

Why? Well, I eventually came to see the “legalize and tax drugs” thing differently. Recall, if you will, the old saying that “the power to tax is the power to destroy.” Frankly (and I know this is a pipe dream at best), I’d be perfectly okay with weed not even being taxed, as such could open the door to yet more wholesale violations of people’s rights. Taxes were the entire reason the feds got involved at Waco with the Branch Davidians; it was alleged that David Koresh was in possession of a full-auto M16 without the $200 transfer tax stamp, which is what brought him to the attention of the ATF. And I don’t have any doubt the feds would flex similar muscle against those who didn’t have a tax stamp for their weed.

And I have to ask myself if Superintendent Whitesell would support SWAT raids on people who, for example, didn’t have the state tax stamp. Somehow I think I know the answer, and if it’s what I think it is then we’re pretty much right back to square one in relation to civil liberties. After all, what’s the difference between busting down somebody’s door on a suspicion that they have illegal drugs and busting down the door on a suspicion that they didn’t have the tax stamp for it? The lesser government involvement with recreational drugs, the better, as far as that particular aspect of it goes.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Yeah, I am definitely more cynical than I used to be.”

  1. That Guy Says:

    really good points. And don’t think that the Govt won’t use a power if you give it to them.

  2. Bob S. Says:

    I approach it from a different perspective; I want the government to try to tax as much as possible. I hope they don’t succeed but they need to try.
    Without the government over-reaching; people are never going to realize how intrusive the government really is.

    I would love to see retailers fighting back against taxes — think of the shock people would get when the realized how much that shirt has already been taxed before they ring it up. Or how much the tax on a gallon of gas really is !!

    Ever read “The Moon is a Harsh Mistress”? It has to get worse before people force a change.

  3. AeroDillo Says:

    Cynical?

    Screw legalizing weed. Legalize EVERYTHING, cut the social safety nets, and let nature takes its course.

Leave a Reply

