Seems to me he’s not thinking at all.

Who? Well, just see for yourself:

“I am skeptical that the only answer is putting more guns in schools,” he said. “And I think the vast majority of the American people are skeptical that that somehow is going to solve our problem.”

We’ll see how that works, won’t we? Given what I saw today as we were out and about, somehow I don’t think the American people think we need fewer guns.

What did I see? Well, we went out to Bass Pro Shops here in San Antonio, and it was packed. We didn’t quite have to park in the outer reaches of the parking lot and hike in, but it was pretty full and people were streaming in. And once we got in there and got up to the gun department…well, to say the pickings were slim was quite the understatement. No semiautomatic rifles to be found, and the bolt gun selection wasn’t much better. The only things that were in plentiful supply were the higher-end production 1911s and a few Taurus pistols, and large-caliber revolvers.

Compare that to the scene at the Dick’s Sporting Goods in the same shopping center, which as you remember recently pulled their black rifles in response to the Newtown shooting. The parking lot was damn near empty, and from what I could tell by looking in the windows there it was a virtual ghost town in comparison to BPS. Which makes Tom Vilsack’s remarks about recognizing that “hunting is a way of life for millions of Americans” sound even dumber than they usually would.

Do Americans see things differently now? Somehow I don’t think so. Columbine didn’t help the chances for an “assault weapons” ban, and I don’t think Newtown is going to help these chances either. I could be wrong, but I still think that what Dianne Feinstein is pushing for — banning the manufacture, sale and transfer of semiautos and NFA registration of the ones in private hands now — is an overplay of the gun controllers’ hand just like the “assault weapons” ban was in 1994.

We’ll see what happens. But in the meantime, this is worth a read.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Seems to me he’s not thinking at all.”

  1. Peter Drysdale Says:

    I saw on Twitter earlier that there was a six month backlog on some guns. Didn’t read the article so I don’t know specifics. But there are plenty of stories to that effect out there. It’s a good time to be a gun salesman. I’d hate to be affiliated with Dick’s right now. To think they’re refusing prior gun orders is beyond me. I’ll bet they’re losing money. Glad I don’t have any of their stock.

  2. drjim Says:

    Interesting read. I just wonder what event will touch off the 21st century version of Lexington and Concord.

    Hope you and Sabra and the little one have a very Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

