First impressions: Accept, Stalingrad

Picked this album up yesterday at Barnes and Noble. I had heard the title track and “Hung, Drawn and Quartered” when I saw these guys at the South Texas Rock Fest and was quite impressed, and I finally got around to picking up this album yesterday…

…and quite simply, it freaking destroys. Think Motorhead fronted by Brian Johnson with some Rob Halford-level screams here and there, and you get the general idea. I’ll admit I haven’t heard much of Accept’s music past “Balls to the Wall” and “Restless and Wild,” but even without that context this is a fantastic metal album in its own right. I don’t quite know what to say to those who would say “it’s not Accept without Udo Dirkschneider,” given that, again, I haven’t heard THAT much of their music — but if they’re going to just dismiss this album just on that basis, it’s definitely their loss. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Tags:

2 Responses to “First impressions: Accept, Stalingrad

  1. Robert De La Rosa Says:

    I hear that, if you like Stalingrad get the album before it “blood of the nations” same line up and sounds just as good. these two albums bring the rock to rock n roll. It was a badass show STRF.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    blood of the nations” same line up and sounds just as good

    That’s exactly what I’ve heard. I’d believe it, too. And yeah, their set at STRF was awesome. That was the first time I had ever seen them and I was very impressed. Seeing what they’ve done with Tornillo as Dirkschneider’s replacement gives me hope for Queensryche as they forge ahead with Todd La Torre. After all, there seem to be a few people still clinging to the whole “it’s not Queensryche without Geoff Tate” bullshit, too.

Leave a Reply

