Sunday morning tech musings.

So everybody and his brother has been talking about Java and its insecurities in the last week, since the vulnerability in the latest version was discovered and the patch was made available. (It has since come to light that even the patch has holes…) And yes, even the Macs are affected.  All of which made me think…

…what the hell’s the use of having Java on your computer in the first place? I’ll admit I installed it a while back, when I was using a site that required it — but I couldn’t tell you the name of the site if my life depended on it. And Java’s been disabled on both my browsers (Safari & Firefox) for a good while now, and I haven’t missed it. I would have completely uninstalled it by now, but for what I’ve read about it likely requiring a reinstall of OS X Lion. Disabling it will protect your computer for the most part, though.

==

I am once again amazed at some people’s technological ineptitude. It seems like there are a lot of people out there who think there’s some sort of backup/data transfer fairy that will automatically back up their stuff in case they go off and do something like drop their smartphone in water. But guess what? There is no backup/data transfer fairy, boys and girls. If you don’t do it, it will not get done. Yes, some forms and methods of backup are more automated than others. But you have to set them up to do their thing.  Otherwise, you’re going to be reduced to begging the Geek Squad to get your stuff off your dripping smartphone and paying them an arse-ton of money to do it — assuming they can even do it, of course.

For the record: My MacBook Pro isn’t backed up. I was fortunate to be able to pull everything off my ’07 MacBook after it died. I am aware of the risks I am taking. And they will be corrected at the earliest opportunity.

Tags:

4 Responses to “Sunday morning tech musings.”

  1. mick Says:

    Kind of funny to see you rant about people not backing up devices and then admit to it yourself. External terabyte drives are getting pretty cheap. Carbon Copy Cloner and Time Machine are both easy ways to back up. The hardest part would probably be remembering to plug the drive into the laptop. Just do it.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Kind of funny to see you rant about people not backing up devices and then admit to it yourself.

    Lol. To be honest, my biggest gripe is not necessarily with people not backing up, but with them thinking that it’s just done without any action on their part — hence the “backup fairy” remark. 😉

    I was doing a bit of research on Time Machine, and it does look pretty easy. I think it can be done wirelessly with the right setup but am not sure. But I’d be okay with plugging it in and manually backing it up.

    • mick Says:

      It’s possible to do wirelessly, but requires network aware storage (NAS) which is generally more expensive for the convenience.

      • southtexaspistolero Says:

        This is true, and it would probably take a fat lot longer, too. I think our Internet connection runs at about 3 Mbps max, while the transfer rate for a wired Thunderbolt connection is about 10 Gbps.

Leave a Reply

