Lunch review: El Taco Tote

So yesterday, Sabra and I set out for lunch as we do every Sunday after the older kids’ bio dad comes to get ’em. In search of what we didn’t know, but it was a fun drive anyway, down Huebner, Bandera and 1604 back down IH-10. Cruising down the eastbound frontage road between Wurzbach Road and Medical Drive, we came up on El Taco Tote, one of San Antonio’s innumerable Mexican establishments. El Taco Tote is apparently a chain with locations from Houston to Phoenix and several down in Mexico as well.

The last bit would probably have been a clue as to how good it was if we had known that beforehand; i.e., if the Mexicans will eat there, it must be pretty good. And it was! We had the platter for two, which came with 10 ounces of top sirloin, flour and/or corn tortillas (we split ’em down the middle), borracho beans, rice, and guacamole, with a side order of nachos topped with refried beans, guacamole, jalapeños, and steak fajita meat.

All of it was quite tasty, but I think the highlight was the corn tortillas. This might be heresy, but I have never been a big fan of corn tortillas; they’ve always been too brittle for me. Not so with these; they were actually closer to the consistency of the flour tortillas. I don’t know if they were tempered with flour, but even if they were I am completely okay with that. For what it’s worth, Sabra said they were, and I quote, “the most amazing corn tortillas I have ever had the pleasure to eat.” (And she is a born-and-raised San Antonian. She knows what she’s talking about when it comes to that.)

Another good thing: They had Mexican Coke, in the 16-oz. bottles. It’s plentiful in the stores, of course, but I have rarely seen it in any restaurants around here; I think the last time I saw it in a restaurant was when we went to Orderup on Highway 281 North a couple of years ago.

So yeah, between all of that I would very highly recommend El Taco Tote. It’s more expensive than, say, Taco Cabana, but not that much. And it’s still a great deal; we got out of there for less than $30, and we were all quite full. We’ll be going back, for sure.

Tags:

3 Responses to “Lunch review: El Taco Tote”

  1. Albatross Says:

    Wow. I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. Because the last time I ate at Taco Tote the experience was so bad I swore I would never go back. And I haven’t, lo these 15 years or so.

    Maybe they’ve changed. Based on your recommendation, I might decide to give them a try again.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      I might decide to give them a try again.

      You oughta. I didn’t know what to expect, but I was very pleasantly surprised.

      PS: I have Blood of the Nations, Accept’s previous album with Mark Tornillo on lead vocals, on order from Barnes and Noble. Supposed to come in sometime this week. I’ve heard it’s even better than Stalingrad

Leave a Reply

