Because the public supports it, it must be good?

…or, Hey, how about another fun game of word substitution!

More than 90 percent of Americans support rounding up gun owners, chaining them to trucks and dragging them to their deaths, according to a brand-new ABC News/Washington Post poll.

Wayne LaPierre and the NRA do not….

But surely 91 percent of the public trumps the high-capacity cash magazine the NRA keeps emptying at their friends in Congress, right?

Wrong.

No, one might not necessarily be equivalent to the other, but you see what I’m getting at, don’t you?

Tags:

4 Responses to “Because the public supports it, it must be good?”

  1. Dwight Brown Says:

    It seems to me that anyone who wants to make the argument that “a majority of people support gun control, therefore it must be a good thing” also has to support the same argument in other instances.

    For example, a majority of voters in California supported Proposition 8, which banned same-sex marriage. Since this proposition was clearly supported by the majority, I would expect the same people who support gun control based on the wishes of the majority to also support the will of the voters. withdraw their legal challenges to Proposition 8, and allow the law to take effect.

    “Oh, but same-sex marriage is a civil rights issue.” And guns aren’t?

    (Personally, I support same-sex marriage; I believe same-sex couples should have the same right to be miserable as everyone else. I’m just using this example for illustrative purposes.)

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Another great analogy, Dwight. Of course, as you well know, some civil rights are more equal than others…

    Say, are you coming to Houston for the NRA convention?

    • Dwight Brown Says:

      I would like to go, and hope to be able to go. It is the first time I can recall that it has been in someplace reasonably close to my backyard.

      At this point, though, whether I can go or not, along with a lot of other things, depends on whether I can find a job in the near future; and, if I do, what kind of arrangements I can make with my employer. I’ve got high hopes, but nothing definite yet.

      (Ooops, there goes another rubber tree plant.)

  3. mick Says:

    So do you think this post should be ignored in the spirit of honest debate?

    If not, why not? I’m curious. Making a metaphor which drags hypothetical people to their deaths seems more emotionally manipulative than standing next to children while talking about actual people who have been killed.

Leave a Reply

