Shorter Brad Paisley…

“I love country music, just not enough to stay true to it.“:

You have different stages in your career where you have different things to prove. And early on, like most people who move to Nashville, I wanted to prove that I belonged here, that I belonged in this format, that I had a love for it. And I was trying to sort of ‘out-traditional’ other people in some ways, like, ‘No, I can be more traditional than you.’

Oh, Brad Paisley. So open-minded that his brains fell out, as the old saying goes.

Honestly, I don’t understand the fear of getting stale because you stick with one kind of music. Hell, George Strait has done it for 30-plus years, and he’s still making great music. Sure, he’s had some songs that I wasn’t so fond of — some albums I wasn’t fond of, even — but it’s like that with every artist. It strikes me that Paisley takes himself entirely too seriously as an artist. Why does he do it? I really don’t know. If I had to guess, I’d say that he was trying to get out from under the stigma of all the novelty songs he’s done over the years. But that’s still no excuse. If he wanted to be taken seriously as an artist, maybe he shouldn’t have done those songs in the first place.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

4 Responses to “Shorter Brad Paisley…”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    He wants to be so much better than he is. Or maybe overestimates himself. I don’t know which. He has this habit of recording duets with people so much more talented than he (this current one included). I don’t know if he’s reaching or deluded.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Me neither, but it’s rather aggravating. I bought his first couple of albums and they were pretty good, from what I remember. Not George Strait good, but they did have some solid songs on them.

      • Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

        Well, you know I wanted to throat-punch him for the schmaltz of “He Didn’t Have To Be”, but other than that I thought he was OK.

        Still, you can’t hate him for the novelty songs when you give Alan Jackson a pass. 😉

      • southtexaspistolero Says:

        LOL. I don’t hate him for his novelty songs. I am just irked at him for the way he’s trying to get out of the hole he got himself into with them. It’s as if he’s saying, “Look at me, I can be serious too!” But I think that works better with songs like “Whiskey Lullaby” than it does with songs like “This Is Country Music.”

Leave a Reply

