Sunday music musings.

So, how many of you from San Antonio or South Texas have heard? Heard what? Well…

A. KKYX is now broadcasting on FM as well as AM. They recently put up a signal at 104.9. Not too powerful, it mainly covers the north side of town, but hey, classic country on FM! Not only there, but also…

B. …on 92.5 and 93.3, as Clear Channel brought back the legendary K-BUC. I wasn’t here when that station was on the air, so I don’t know if it’s as good as it once was. I’m going to guess the answer is no, as they’re playing music from the ’90s and early 2000s as well. But that’s okay, because I really like what I’ve heard on there so far, which includes a good amount of stuff from the ’70s and ’80s.

===

I’ve often said that people who listen to bad music seem to like to inflict it on the rest of us. We got another example of it today, on the IH-10 frontage road at DeZavala, as some dude in a Toyota Tundra with his windows rolled down subjected us to Luke Bryan. Seriously. It’s not that I think pop-country is bad by default; it’s just that it used to be a whole lot better.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Sunday music musings.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    KBUC used to be pretty similar to KKYX. I can forgive ’em the occasional ’90s flashback, because it still makes them a damn sight better than, say, KJ97.

    And gah, yes, that dude was annoying, but I like to think I annoyed him right back. 😉

  2. Albatross Says:

    KBUC was definitely good old country. My dad used to have a station sticker on his truck window. It looked like this.

Leave a Reply

