I just can’t get all worked up about that.

A comment from My Kind of Country, about a Rodney Crowell-Emmylou Harris show in which Crowell didn’t play any of the Diamonds and Dirt hits:

Funny that there’s no mention here of Rodney Crowell’s songs from his commercial heyday–”After All This Time,” “She’s Crazy,” etc.–Does he actually give a concert and skip over his string of #1 hits?

It sure looks that way, but I for one can’t get too het up over it. Radio played the shit out of those songs and continues to do so, while all his other stuff gets practically ignored anymore — not just the brilliant stuff from The Houston Kid and the two albums that followed it, but also the music from the albums after Diamonds and Dirt. I didn’t not like all those songs, but the only one I really, actively liked was “She’s Crazy for Leavin’.” To be fair, most of that had to do with their being overplayed, though. Still, though, I would gladly trade any of them for “Telephone Road,” “Earthbound,” or this lost gem from 1989’s Keys to the Highway:

“Look for me, where the four winds blow…”

Tags:

5 Responses to “I just can’t get all worked up about that.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    If you only really actively liked one song off that album, there’s something wrong with you.

    Beyond that, though, I can’t say I’d go see a concert supporting a new album from two people and get pissy that there was nothing from a 20-year-old album from one of them. Kinda not the point of the event, methinks.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    LOL. I didn’t hear the whole thing. I’d be interested in hearing some of the unreleased album cuts. Those are often the better songs.

  3. AeroDillo Says:

    Funny thing about being a fan…you collect enough of a given artist’s albums, you look back one day and (discounting greatest hits compilations) realize that you’ve heard maybe one or two songs from each make it to the radio – if that.

    Which, as me and a friend once hashed out, means that when you walk into a music store, most of the songs in that building have never been played over the air.

    And that some of them have been played far, far too much.

    ….

    On the subject at hand, I’d kill to get some Rodney Crowell on the radio here. Or some Emmylou Harris.

  4. southtexaspistolero Says:

    Funny thing about being a fan…you collect enough of a given artist’s albums, you look back one day and (discounting greatest hits compilations) realize that you’ve heard maybe one or two songs from each make it to the radio – if that.

    Yep. I have noticed that as well. So many of the better songs don’t ever make it to the radio, and that’s a real shame. Not that I notice anymore, because I haven’t listened to mainstream country radio in a few years, but still…

  5. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Fully half of Diamonds & Dirt was released as singles, and every one of them hit #1, including “She’s Crazy for Leaving”. I think my favorite off that album is “After All This Time,” even if it is the only song of his they play on the radio anymore. But “Crazy Baby” and “I Didn’t Know I Could Lose You,” both album cuts, are every bit as good. It’s simply a fantastic album, even when put up against the likes of The Houston Kid.

    And Erik, you have heard it; I’ve played it on Spotify twice now.

Leave a Reply

