That’s not very nuanced — or subtle, for that matter:

Natalie Maines, in Rolling Stone:

“I just didn’t like how blatant country music was,” she says, laughing again. “Nothing seemed poetic or subtle. Nothing could be interpreted two different ways! It’s all very spelled out. James Taylor can write ‘Fire and Rain’ and tell you it’s about a mental institution, this and that – and you listen to it, and you’re trying to decipher it all. And, you know, a country song would be like [sings twangily], ‘I’m in a mental institution!’ ”

“I don’t remember lovin’ you, and I don’t recall the things, you say you put me through…”

Wow, talk about bitterness. I mean, I can understand it to a point, but to throw the entire genre itself under the bus because of the narrow-mindedness of a portion of its fans is just beyond the pale. To take just one example, the John Conlee song I mentioned above pretty much all but tells the listener that he’s institutionalized, but it still paints quite a picture doing so. But even…

…oh, you know, fuck it. Anybody whose opinion really matters knows she’s full of it. Natalie Maines wallows in her ignorance here like the proverbial pig wallows in shit, all the while lobbing her rhetorical grenades like monkeys flinging shit at the zoo. And it’s funny, too, if you think about it. I would bet Rolling Stone saw this interview as just another way to send another zinger to all those slack-jawed yokels living in flyover country, but it seems that in their zeal to do so, they made themselves look quite stupid without even realizing it.

I mean, if they want to say country music is stupid and simplistic, you’d think they would have been more…subtle about it.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

3 Responses to “That’s not very nuanced — or subtle, for that matter:”

  1. AeroDillo Says:

    One of the more interesting items of note on Saving Country Music has lately been some discussion on how the the Dixie Chicks were ‘unfairly’ blackballed and eventually destroyed by an ignorant public. Now…much as I like reading some SCM, there’s a problem with the logic.

    The Dixie Chicks were not destroyed by an angry and ignorant public. They were destroyed by their lead singer having a big mouth and a lack of discretion.

    You shoot yourself in the foot (or better yet, you kill the goose that supplies your golden eggs) don’t blame Smith & Wesson.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    As much as I didn’t agree with that initially, the more Natalie Maines shoots off her mouth, the more I agree with it. I mean, I thought it sucked that the Chicks got blackballed, but I tend to think think their reputation and legacy would not have taken such a hit had Maines kept her mouth shut. They would have likely faded into obscurity and perhaps even been looked back on more fondly. But the interviews and feet in mouth kept coming, and here we are.

    I do still think country music is much worse off for what happened to them, though. I think this guy made a valid point when he said the worst thing about the incident was the fact that country music never quite recovered from it, that had it not been for that, we would not have been cursed with dreck like Rascal Flatts or “Truck Yeah.”

  3. AeroDillo Says:

    Yeah. Definitely had a point with that comment. I think what gets under my skin more is that (so it seems to me) the Maines and her supporters seem to want both free speech AND protected speech – say what you want and offend who you will, but do so realizing that you are also fully subject to any backlash and are NOT entitled to access the wallets of the fans you’ve just insulted.

Leave a Reply

