I agree, but then I don’t.

Josh Abbott:

I hear songs like Jason Aldean’s “1994,” then I think about all the sh*t that a guy like Casey Donahew or myself take from the people in our scene. We’re a hundred times better than that stuff!

In a way he’s right, but in a way maybe not so much. Some of the stuff that comes out of Texas (although only a bit of it) is just as bad. It’s just that it’s a different kind of bad. We all know that if somebody came down here and heard Pat Green’s “Country Star” or Kevin Fowler’s “Hell Yeah, I Like Beer,” they’d rightly be wondering why we all trumpet Texas country as being better than mainstream Nashville country. No, we by and large don’t do country rap down here, but Texas country at its worst can be just as banal and uninteresting — and, yes, downright bad — as anything else.

I will say, though, if I had to choose between Jason Aldean and Blake Shelton or Casey Donahew and Josh Abbott, I would gladly take the latter every day of the week and twice on Sundays. It’s not perfect, but Texas is still miles ahead of Nashville when it comes to stuff worth listening to.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

2 Responses to “I agree, but then I don’t.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Texas music at its worst: Sunny Sweeney, “From a Table Away.”

    Nashville music at its worst: Florida Georgia Line, “Cruise.”

    Game, set, match: Texas.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Well, I can’t really argue with that, although I might substitute Blake Shelton’s “Boys Round Here” for the latter…

Leave a Reply

