And he thinks that’s an acceptable excuse?

Son of a Peach Picker Thomas Rhett, attempting to rationalize his banal, middle-of-the-road pop-country bullshit:

My dad’s the biggest Rolling Stones fan. And I like Poison, and all the rap and hip-hop that was floating around my junior high school. That’s why I can’t just do a straight country song.

The Rolling Stones, eh? I have to wonder if the father or the son knows the story behind the classic “Honky Tonk Women,” or that the Stones were big fans of country music, going so far as to cover the Waylon Jennings classic “Bob Wills Is Still the King” every so often in their live show. Frankly, if I were a member of the Rolling Stones (or Poison, for that matter) I’d be quite offended to be cast as one of the reasons that shit’s being foisted on country fans.

(I wouldn’t be altogether surprised if that did piss Bret Michaels off; I’ve heard here and there that he is a fan of folks like George Strait and Alan Jackson.)

Seriously, just because you like some kinds of music doesn’t mean you can’t make your living doing other kinds of music and be true to whatever genre you choose to make you make your mark in. I can’t tell you how utterly shocked I was, for example, to find out that Tom Araya sings country music to keep up his singing voice when he isn’t fronting Slayer (let alone that he is a practicing Catholic and owns a cattle ranch just outside of Buffalo, and shops at the Palestine Walmart…). Could Tom Araya make a real country record? I don’t know, but I do give him a lot of credit for not trying to make one just because country is where the money is anymore (especially since there seems to be a fairly vocal contingent calling for Slayer to disband in the wake of guitarist/songwriter Jeff Hanneman’s death).

What’s that, you say? Why do I think Thomas Rhett is only pitching his shit to country singers because of the money? Because if it wasn’t, he’d be doing hip-hop or playing in a Poison tribute band. You know, doing the stuff he likes. I was telling Sabra earlier that while “Gone Country” was very much a commentary on its period in history, I still thought it was a timeless piece of work, but I never expected it to be as relevant now as it was when it was released.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

Leave a Reply

