Wow, I totally missed this.

From the Express-News letters to the editor today:

…former OLLU president Tessa Martinez Pollack…is gone because she cut 12 degrees that were not worthy of a university degree, including Spanish and Mexican-American Studies. Faculty and students protested, and Pollack is gone.

Wow, that sucks. I would have expected something like that at a school like the University of Texas, but I never would have expected it to happen at a smaller private school. That being the case, if I was the parent of an OLLU student I’d certainly be questioning the worth of my investment if OLLU is going to waste money paying people to nurse their ethnic grievances and pass them on to others. I would certainly hope for the sake of the students and the folks paying their tuition that OLLU does cut those studies and make those classes electives for other majors. It’ll be interesting to see what happens.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

