Oh hey, that reminds me.

What reminds me of what, you ask? Well, Sabra’s post on mascots reminds me of a certain bit I saw from the Daily Caller.

Bit of context: As you all know, Paula Deen basically got fired from the Food Network for certain racist remarks she made in the past. Outraged Deen fans are now threatening to boycott the Food Network, supposedly until Deen is reinstated.

Now, look. I understand that people have past opinions and attitudes they’re not proud of. I know opinions change. But you see something like this:

What I would really like is a bunch of little [N-word] to wear long-sleeve white shirts, black shorts and black bow ties. Now that would be a true Southern wedding, wouldn’t it?

…and you have to wonder if Paula Deen is just covering her ass because her livelihood is on the line, as opposed to being genuinely contrite. Color me skeptical…

Tags:

3 Responses to “Oh hey, that reminds me.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Paula Deen was born in 1947. That makes her two years older than my mom, who was also born and raised in the South. (We have family in Birmingham, and I know they lived there at some point.) I can pretty much guarantee that my mother has never called anyone a nigger in her life. This idea that it’s just a word people of a certain age in the South used to use is simple bullshit. Did some folks use it? Yes. Were they wrong to even then? Fuck, yes.

  2. southtexaspistolero Says:

    I can pretty much guarantee that my mother has never called anyone a nigger in her life.

    I can’t be completely sure, but the same could probably be said of my grandmother, who is 15 years older.

  3. Les Says:

    I am somewhat younger than Paula Deen, but not by much. I can assure you that the word (I was going to use the word, as I hate institutionalized racism, but I am a guest here) was used almost everytime children chose sides. Enie, Meanie, Minie Moe, catch a tiger by the toe. Tiger is the word substituted for my children to say the rhyme in a politically correct fashion. Makes us all racists, doesn’t it. However we had no idea until much later what it meant and during the days of segregation in southeast Texas, you could never see or meet a black person. That changed in the seventh grade. But if you were asked in court if you ever said it, you would have to say yes.

    My families in Mississippi, were divided. One side’s language was peppered with GD, hell and the n word. The other side as far as I know never said any of that. On the other hand, the word F–k was strictly forbidden everywhere, locker rooms etc. everywhere. You saw it carved on bathroom walls and could only spell it, never say it. I am ante-revolution, my wife is post-revolution. She told me, that as an older teenager F–k was a common word to her, as in, that’s f–king bitching (which to me was just about as bad). She said she learned the same choose up rhyme, although when f–k became okay for young ladies to use, n—–r went out.

    I will say, I hear that black people use the n word all the time, and if that is so it is racist to ban others from using it. But although I worked shifts in Houston where everyone, including the foreman,was black except for me, I never heard the n word, nor later from black people I worked with. So from the late sixties to now, except for Bait car types and Hollywood and some yankees, I haven’t heard it or said it except when conversations like this come up. Well, I take it back, my 93 year old grandfather in Mississippi said it one time and then apologized for it. “Sorry, I don’t mean anything, but that is just what we called them”.

    Wonder if my kids would say, “My daddy never said that”. I don’t know. I never heard my mother or my father say it.

    Be careful what you say, 30 years from now it might be politically incorrect and the puritanical bluenoses (and lawyers) will be after you.

    Best to you both.

Leave a Reply

