“Whataburger would never do something like that.”

Such was my first thought upon seeing this — for those who don’t want to click on it, a history of ads for the burger chain Carl’s Jr. My second thought was,”You know why they make those ads? Because they have to attract customers somehow.”

Not that I think Carl’s Jr. is bad, mind you — just really overrated. You’re better off spending your money at Whataburger anyway if you’re going for a fast-food burger. Can’t say as I understand the slam at Hardee’s, though. I ate at Hardee’s a fair amount when I was a kid, and it was pretty good from what I remember. In fact, their roast beef sandwiches were at least as good as the ones from Arby’s. (Not that I would defend Arby’s as haute cuisine, but for a fast-food roast beef sandwich it was pretty good.)

Of course, I’ve always looked askance at places that use sex to sell stuff, and food is no exception. I know there are those who say Hooters makes good wings, for example, but really, if the food was so good would they have to resort to marketing it the way they do?

Tags:

6 Responses to ““Whataburger would never do something like that.””

  1. Jeff Bauer Says:

    Where’s the link?

  2. Les Says:

    While I don’t think Whataburgers quality is what it once was, by golly, it is a hamburger place where, unlike the rest, you can get a hamburger anytime, morning, noon or night. Being a shift worker, I always hated “the breakfast menu” so that you couldn’t buy a hamburger until, say, 10 am.

    • southtexaspistolero Says:

      Heh. If Whataburger isn’t as good as it used to be, then it must have been damn good once upon a time!

      • Les Says:

        Yes, it was, and the closer to Corpus you got, the better it was. Then it went backwards, about middle seventies or so, seemed to get new life and stabilized above mediocre or better, depending on location. If I am out of town, I still tend to go there first for a hamburger.

  3. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Erik, you fail at late night blogging. This isn’t the article he was reading, but it has the video: http://firstwefeast.com/eat/jenny-mccarthy-sexy-carls-jr-a/

Leave a Reply

