Brian Kelley makes me want to throw things.

…or, Oh, ugh, how depressing:

Q: Fans are responding, but there are people that criticize some of the imagery common on country radio today, like the trucks, the back roads. Do you care about that at all?

A: Man, that’s been around for years-dirt roads, beer, trucks and girls. That is country music, and I don’t think that’s ever gonna change.

Yes, that is country music…to all the people who stereotype it anymore and look down on those of us who listen to it.

Seriously, who does this guy think he is? And did he ever listen to, well, any country music before he and his partner decided to go to Nashville and try to make it big? I’m going to guess the answer is no, as evidenced by what they’ve foisted on the country audience so far. Kelley is right when he says that dirt roads, beer and that sort of thing have been around for years. But he’s utterly and completely wrong when he says “that is country music,” as anyone who knows anything about the genre knows.

Furthermore, this is at direct odds with Kelley’s claim that he and his partner wanted to “create music that’s fresh and…real.” After all, if they really wanted to do something like that, they wouldn’t have been aping the same tired and clichéd shtick that every other new male mainstream country act has been doing for at least the last five years or so. So which is it? Do they want to make something fresh and original or take the easy way out and do what everyone else has done for the quick buck?

That was a rhetorical question, of course. They’ve made the answer quite obvious. And it’s all fine and good. They’re entitled to do whatever they want. But it’s rather insulting for them to think all that high-minded bullshit isn’t going to be completely transparent to all but the most oblivious observer.

On the other hand, it’s Florida-Georgia Line. I would surely not expect intelligence from them; why are their fans going to be any different? After all, the same people buying their crap are also buying the crap from Luke Bryan, Jason Aldean, Brantley Gilbert, and Colt Ford.

(h/t Country California)

Tags:

4 Responses to “Brian Kelley makes me want to throw things.”

  1. AeroDillo Says:

    Quick! Somebody tell Jimmie Rogers, Hank Williams, Patsy Cline, and Johnny Cash that they had it all wrong. I’m sure they’ll appreciate the correction from…whatever this is.

  2. Les Says:

    Yep, ” Satin Sheets, third rate romance, fourteen karat mind, Kay, King of the Road. In the Jailhouse now, Never been this far before”. All about trucks and beer, and dirt roads, right? Mostly I think good Country music has been about life and relationships. Always thought “Going Country” covered the crux of the situation. Or the problem.

  3. southtexaspistolero Says:

    “Kay, I’m livin’, yet I’m dyin’, starin’ out at Music City, from my cab…” DEAR GOD I LOVE THAT SONG.

  4. Les Says:

    I’m impressed that you even know about and have listened to “Kay”. I don’t think any of my children ever heard of it. The 45 came out in the late 60’s (I wanted it but couldn’t afford it). But after the 60’s I don’t think I ever heard it again on the radio. I tried over the years to find a recording of it (and “Washington Square” by the Village Stompers from 1963), but was not successful until I found ITunes and lo and behold there both were. Long time to look for, and want two songs but to me, they were memorable. I heard both on the AM, KILT, KTSA, or KRYS (Sparkling City by the Sea) between thunderstorm and spark plug static on the radio in the 57 VW. “Kay” was a neat song to listen to driving home from Victoria at night on KILT.

Leave a Reply

