Thursday music musings.

A comment from here, re: Spotify:

I don’t have a Spotify subscription and with more than 14,000 songs in my iTunes library I don’t really need it. I don’t really get the whole idea of an “all you can eat” subscription plan except as a way to preview new music…I would much rather buy my music and own a copy than pay for streaming rights.

That’s pretty much exactly how I feel about that. I’ve mentioned it before, but storing all your music in the cloud has always struck me as a very bad idea. Why? Because, of course, if you don’t have an Internet connection, you don’t have your music — and if being able to hear your music is dependent on such a thing, you don’t really “own” that music so much as “rent” it.

That’s not to say that I think Spotify is bad, though. As the commenter said, it’s great for sampling new music before you buy it — probably even better than YouTube, as you can’t find everything there. I still hope that downloading music to one’s own device is as far as it goes, though.

===

This was a pretty neat list. What caught my eye was No. 4. It may be my non-TV-watching ways, but I think musical compression should probably have been No. 1 on that list. The author mentioned this:

…there are benefits to dynamic range compression other than loudness. Most notably, it makes a song sound more uniform on low-quality equipment, which isn’t a trivial concern considering how much pop music is listened to on crappy little earbuds or on car stereos with the windows rolled down.

…which makes little to no sense to me, as brickwalled music sounds just as bad on car speakers as it does on headphones if you turn it up loud enough. No matter what you’re listening to that music on, that clipping and distortion is going to come through if you turn it up loud enough. I can understand mastering a record hot to some point, but I don’t understand why, for example, they took it to the levels they did on Metallica’s Death Magnetic.

===

I found this highly amusing:

Celebrate the Twentieth Anniversary of Nirvana’s In Utero…

…coming, as it did, from a metal music website (even considering the reason given). “Hey, let’s celebrate the anniversary of the release of the last album from one of the bands that made metal a dirty word for almost a decade!” Granted, I don’t actively dislike Nirvana the way I do, say, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, and it strikes me that metalheads don’t really hold much of a grudge (if any) toward the grunge bands, but still I thought it was funny. Perhaps metal having regained much of the ground it lost during the ’90s as grunge faded into the background to the extent it did has made metal fans more, shall we say, magnanimous…

Tags:

2 Responses to “Thursday music musings.”

  1. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Oh, honey, metal is just as faded to the world as a whole as grunge. You’re deep in it right now and you actually care, so you miss that no one else really does. It would be like me saying “Everyone loves ’70s country music!” ’cause I hang around with people who do when in reality it’s a tiny subset of the music listening public.

    But anyhow, Spotify. I would never pay for it but it certainly is handy for sampling music. I bought the new Jason Boland album on the strength of the Spotify listen & I actually have a pretty good To Buy list now. If anything, Spotify might be the album’s salvation, given the way they make that the default consumption method.

    I’m right there with you on not paying to stream music, though.

  2. Sabra Morse Onstott Says:

    Also, pedant check time: it’s so not Thursday 😉

Leave a Reply

